Results 1 to 17 of 19
04-13-2013, 02:13 AM #1
question on "hitting or touching" the net
So during a game, I returned the shuttle right on to the tape, but unfortunately, it falls on my side of the court. However, my opponent was so eager to hit the shuttle, he hits the net, while the shuttle is in air, obviously falling on my side.
Is it a fault? Or is it a point to my opponent? Any rules on this?
04-13-2013, 02:15 AM #2
If he touched the net with his racket before the shuttle hits the ground, it's a fault, and your point.
04-13-2013, 04:58 AM #3
Your 1st sentence doesn't make sense with the 2nd sentence. If the shuttle got deflected off from the tape and falls on your side, then why did your opponent even try to hit it!? (unless he is newbie)
If he goes for shot at the net, and hits the net too before the rally ends, then he is at fault.
04-13-2013, 11:06 AM #4
Thanks, indeed my opponent was going for it and hit the net...we had an argument about it.
04-13-2013, 11:12 AM #5
CMIIW, once the shuttle touches the net and the descending has begun, the rally is over. You lose. It doesn't matter if your opponent touches the net after the descending has begun.
Feel free to correct me if i am wrong.
Last edited by pcll99; 04-13-2013 at 11:21 AM.
04-13-2013, 12:07 PM #6
04-13-2013, 12:33 PM #7
Thanks to all. It was one of those shot where the shuttle hit the tape, not the net,*but for sure it is descending when he hit the net. Note: The point didn't count, we started over.
Last edited by leeforspeed; 04-13-2013 at 12:43 PM.
04-13-2013, 04:09 PM #8
pcll is correct. I am too lazy to go to the rulebook to find the exact wording but it is something like
Shuttle not in play:
The shuttle is considered not in play when it hits the net and falls toward the side of the striker.
Therefore anything else happens after that is nullified.
However, if the shuttle is let's say at half court and is clearly not going over, then the shuttle is still considered in play until it hits the ground.
04-13-2013, 05:45 PM #9
any comments and thoughts?
04-13-2013, 08:14 PM #10
what the OP described did in fact happen in Japan Open 2010 in the XD final between Zhang/Zhao vs Tao/Tien.
The Umpire fortunately made the right call.
04-16-2013, 07:43 AM #11
I quote this out from the BWF rule book~ (http://www.worldbadminton.com/rules/...ndbook2010.pdf)
15. SHUTTLE NOT IN PLAY
A shuttle is not in play when:
15.1 it strikes the net or post and starts to fall towards the surface of the court on the striker’s side of the net;
15.2 it hits the surface of the court; or
15.3 a ‘fault’ or a ‘let’ has occurred
So from the evidence, we are totally sure that pcll99 is 100% correct
And the rally is finished once the shuttle touches the net and falls to yr own side =]
04-16-2013, 10:07 AM #12
04-16-2013, 10:08 AM #13
no matter how if your opponent touched the net then it's a fault. A point should given to you. am I correct?
04-16-2013, 10:49 AM #14
Last edited by visor; 04-16-2013 at 10:51 AM.
Agile_Monkey liked this post
04-16-2013, 11:08 AM #15
not really... was what we discussed. Since the shuttle already hit the net and started falling to our own ground, even when the shuttle haven't reach the ground yet, the rally ends. Thus even when the opponent touch the net afterwards, it isn't a fault.
04-17-2013, 08:07 PM #16
04-17-2013, 10:45 PM #17