User Tag List

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 17 of 18
  1. #1
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Los Angeles, California, USA
    Posts
    22
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default question on "hitting or touching" the net

    So during a game, I returned the shuttle right on to the tape, but unfortunately, it falls on my side of the court. However, my opponent was so eager to hit the shuttle, he hits the net, while the shuttle is in air, obviously falling on my side.

    Is it a fault? Or is it a point to my opponent? Any rules on this?

    Thanks

  2. #2
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    TW, SG, HK
    Posts
    7,314
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    If he touched the net with his racket before the shuttle hits the ground, it's a fault, and your point.

  3. #3
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Aotearoa
    Posts
    104
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Your 1st sentence doesn't make sense with the 2nd sentence. If the shuttle got deflected off from the tape and falls on your side, then why did your opponent even try to hit it!? (unless he is newbie)

    If he goes for shot at the net, and hits the net too before the rally ends, then he is at fault.

  4. #4
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Los Angeles, California, USA
    Posts
    22
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Thanks, indeed my opponent was going for it and hit the net...we had an argument about it.

  5. #5
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    came from the SAR
    Posts
    3,959
    Mentioned
    5 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    CMIIW, once the shuttle touches the net and the descending has begun, the rally is over. You lose. It doesn't matter if your opponent touches the net after the descending has begun.

    Feel free to correct me if i am wrong.
    Last edited by pcll99; 04-13-2013 at 11:21 AM.

  6. #6
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    647
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by pcll99 View Post
    CMIIW, once the shuttle touches the net and the descending has begun, the rally is over. You lose. It doesn't matter if your opponent touches the net after the descending has begun.

    Feel free to correct me if i am wrong.
    I think you are right.

    Even if it technically would be a fault I wouldn't call it as a player.

  7. #7
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Los Angeles, California, USA
    Posts
    22
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Thanks to all. It was one of those shot where the shuttle hit the tape, not the net,*but for sure it is descending when he hit the net. Note: The point didn't count, we started over.
    Last edited by leeforspeed; 04-13-2013 at 12:43 PM.

  8. #8
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    NorCal, United States
    Posts
    910
    Mentioned
    5 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    pcll is correct. I am too lazy to go to the rulebook to find the exact wording but it is something like

    Shuttle not in play:

    The shuttle is considered not in play when it hits the net and falls toward the side of the striker.

    Therefore anything else happens after that is nullified.

    However, if the shuttle is let's say at half court and is clearly not going over, then the shuttle is still considered in play until it hits the ground.

  9. #9
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Aotearoa
    Posts
    104
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by pcll99 View Post
    CMIIW, once the shuttle touches the net and the descending has begun, the rally is over. You lose. It doesn't matter if your opponent touches the net after the descending has begun.

    Feel free to correct me if i am wrong.
    oh I see your point there. seems fair. I think the shuttle has to start descending after it hits the net, then the rally is over. If the shuttle ascends first (after it hits the net), flys above net level, your opponent might be eager to finish it off, which means it is your point if he struck it on your side.

    any comments and thoughts?

  10. #10
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    came from the SAR
    Posts
    3,959
    Mentioned
    5 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    what the OP described did in fact happen in Japan Open 2010 in the XD final between Zhang/Zhao vs Tao/Tien.

    The Umpire fortunately made the right call.

  11. #11
    Regular Member sychong95's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Hong Kong
    Posts
    99
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Hey guys~

    I quote this out from the BWF rule book~ (http://www.worldbadminton.com/rules/...ndbook2010.pdf)

    15. SHUTTLE NOT IN PLAY
    A shuttle is not in play when:
    15.1 it strikes the net or post and starts to fall towards the surface of the court on the striker’s side of the net;
    15.2 it hits the surface of the court; or
    15.3 a ‘fault’ or a ‘let’ has occurred

    So from the evidence, we are totally sure that pcll99 is 100% correct

    And the rally is finished once the shuttle touches the net and falls to yr own side =]

  12. #12
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    came from the SAR
    Posts
    3,959
    Mentioned
    5 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by sychong95 View Post
    Hey guys~

    I quote this out from the BWF rule book~ (http://www.worldbadminton.com/rules/...ndbook2010.pdf)

    15. SHUTTLE NOT IN PLAY
    A shuttle is not in play when:
    15.1 it strikes the net or post and starts to fall towards the surface of the court on the striker’s side of the net;
    15.2 it hits the surface of the court; or
    15.3 a ‘fault’ or a ‘let’ has occurred

    So from the evidence, we are totally sure that pcll99 is 100% correct

    And the rally is finished once the shuttle touches the net and falls to yr own side =]
    thanks. very useful...

    btw, it's rule 14, not rule 15.

    http://www.bwfbadminton.org/file_dow...d=422701&tid=1

  13. #13
    Regular Member visor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Vancouver, BC
    Posts
    9,651
    Mentioned
    120 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by twelthter View Post
    no matter how if your opponent touched the net then it's a fault. A point should given to you. am I correct?
    Huh? Did you read the posts above?

    The moment the shuttle hits the net and starts falling back on the striker's side, that is already not in play. So no fault can be called when it is not in play already... even if the player falls into the net.
    Last edited by visor; 04-16-2013 at 10:51 AM.

  14. #14
    Regular Member sychong95's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Hong Kong
    Posts
    99
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    not really... was what we discussed. Since the shuttle already hit the net and started falling to our own ground, even when the shuttle haven't reach the ground yet, the rally ends. Thus even when the opponent touch the net afterwards, it isn't a fault.

  15. #15
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Aotearoa
    Posts
    104
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4cRN8atW-wM

    If you did this perfect drop, the rally will never end. Hehe
    ( I wonder if blowing the shuttle over is allowed or not )

  16. #16
    Regular Member sychong95's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Hong Kong
    Posts
    99
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Agile_Monkey View Post
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4cRN8atW-wM

    If you did this perfect drop, the rally will never end. Hehe
    ( I wonder if blowing the shuttle over is allowed or not )
    LOL In that special case, that rally would be considered as a let

  17. #17
    Regular Member visor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Vancouver, BC
    Posts
    9,651
    Mentioned
    120 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by sychong95 View Post
    LOL In that special case, that rally would be considered as a let
    yes... it's a let if it's caught at the top of the net..... but the umpire didn't notice that LD's opponent faulted when he touched the bottom of the net when lifting the shot prior to LD's special drop shot?

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •