User Tag List

Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    SF
    Posts
    62
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Bird stuck on top of the net

    if the shuttle somehow gets stuck on the top of the net, can the receiving team strike it?
    what if the shuttle is leaning more on the other side of the receiving team, can the receiving team come over the net to strike it?
    if the shuttle is stuck there "forever", is this a let (replay)? does it matter which side the shuttle leans toward?

  2. #2
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    HK
    Posts
    4,253
    Mentioned
    7 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    A very good question!!

    i think LD did that before. The umpire called let. I don't know if it is the correct call though.

  3. #3
    Regular Member craigandy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    1,868
    Mentioned
    18 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by bigying View Post
    if the shuttle somehow gets stuck on the top of the net, can the receiving team strike it?
    what if the shuttle is leaning more on the other side of the receiving team, can the receiving team come over the net to strike it?
    if the shuttle is stuck there "forever", is this a let (replay)? does it matter which side the shuttle leans toward?
    It shall be a let if
    14.2.3 after the service is returned, the shuttle is:
    14.2.3.1 caught on the net and remains suspended on its top, or
    14.2.3.2 after passing over the net is caught in the net;

    If the receiving team strike it off the top of the net quick enough before the umpire sees that it is stuck and calls let, then yes you can whip it off(although technically that is cheating but who knows if it was going to stay stuck if it is hit fast enough). The point of contact of the shuttle can not be on your opponents side so no you can't come over the net to strike it.(although if contact is made on your side your racket can follow through onto the opposing court)
    Last edited by craigandy; 05-13-2013 at 12:33 PM.

  4. #4
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    SF
    Posts
    62
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by craigandy View Post
    It shall be a let if
    14.2.3 after the service is returned, the shuttle is:
    14.2.3.1 caught on the net and remains suspended on its top, or
    14.2.3.2 after passing over the net is caught in the net;

    If the receiving team strike it off the top of the net quick enough before the umpire sees that it is stuck and calls let, then yes you can whip it off(although technically that is cheating but who knows if it was going to stay stuck if it is hit fast enough). The point of contact of the shuttle can not be on your opponents side so no you can't come over the net to strike it.(although if contact is made on your side your racket can follow through onto the opposing court)
    in that case, what is defined as "contact"? can i (if i was the receiving team) just push the shuttle over from my side of the net to the other side?

  5. #5
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    2,109
    Mentioned
    28 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    you cannot 'catch' the shuttle either so it depends what you mean by 'push'.

  6. #6
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    South Bay
    Posts
    127
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    A very good question!!

    i think LD did that before. The umpire called let. I don't know if it is the correct call though.
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wBWKJnOon8k#t=99s

  7. #7
    Regular Member craigandy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    1,868
    Mentioned
    18 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by bigying View Post
    in that case, what is defined as "contact"? can i (if i was the receiving team) just push the shuttle over from my side of the net to the other side?
    oops liked your post by mistake. Contact is when the string bed makes contact with the shuttle. No you can't push it, you would have to graze it whilst making your stroke.

    By graze i mean something like what LCW does at 16 seconds
    Last edited by craigandy; 05-13-2013 at 05:40 PM.

  8. #8
    Regular Member Mark A's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    St Helens, UK
    Posts
    4,714
    Mentioned
    27 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Here's one:



    00:10.

  9. #9
    New Member
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    2
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    you cannot 'catch' the shuttle either so it depends what you mean by 'push'.

  10. #10
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    HK
    Posts
    4,253
    Mentioned
    7 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    the reaction by the service judge was interesting....

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •