yonexfanatic

Discussion in 'Introduction' started by yonexfanatic, Nov 23, 2003.

1. yonexfanatic

yonexfanatic Regular Member

How's it going?

I am yonexfanatic.

Badminton Skill: You could probably define my skills being slightly above the "intermediate level."

History:

I started badminton when I was 13 years old. To be honest, I disliked the sport at first; reason was because I was no good at it. A few months after training with a coach, I got the hang of the game (rules and basic strokes) and started to really enjoy playing. At this time, I was playing quite often for someone with my skill level; say 3-4 times a week (this included training). As the months passed, I started playing more often, almost all 7 days a week (two days devoted to training sessions). Tournaments were later introduced into my badminton schedule. But because I wasn't too good and my confidence wasn't all there, I probably only played 1 or 2 max in the season.

Fast forward a year and half later. My dad felt that I was good enough to move onto "higher level" training. I switched coaches and started to train at a private club. The players there were highly devoted to the game and the level of skill was also noticably higher. My dad and I both knew that by playing with this "new" group, I'd be able to get better in skill and gain a ton of experience. At this new level, I started to play many more tournaments. At first, the lack of experience showed; I lost a lot and wasn't a happy camper. But as the tournaments came and went, I began to get better with training and the results were better. I actually started to win.

Currently I still train at the same place. I realize that this might be my last year because of the fact that I'll be in post-secondary education next year; simply won't have that much time. I feel that I'm quite into the game (you could say I'm really hooked) but I'm still working on my consistency and skill level.

BC/BF/BR: