Need help getting another racket.

Discussion in 'Racket Recommendation / Comparison' started by haunt3dWinGz, May 30, 2013.

1. haunt3dWinGz

haunt3dWinGz New Member

Hey forum, I'm new to this but I've been reading threads for few months as a non-member, thought I'd sign up and ask for some advice.

I've been playing badminton on and off for 4 years now and just play recreational with other club members that varies from beginners to intermediates. I would put myself in the middle of the two levels.

My first racket was the 'Carlton Fireblade Iso S-Lite', I really liked that racket until I whacked it on the ground due to shear frustration of myself playing poor shots (which I'm regretting still, since I can't find the same racket anymore.) I've moved on to the 'Carlton Vapour Trail Storm' (last October '12). Here are the specs for each of the rackets;

Carlton Fireblade Iso S-Lite
    Length: 670mm
    Frame Weight: 84g
    Balance: Head Light
    Flex: Medium
    String Tension: 22lbs (I think)
    Head Shape: IsoFrame

Carlton Vapour Trail Storm
    Length: 670mm
    Frame Weight: 87g
    Balance: Head Light
    Flex: Medium
    String Tension: 18-28lbs
    Head Shape: Optimetric

I play doubles mainly but also singles now and then. I can smash but rarely manage to finish them from the back but I can clear from the back to the opponents back. I have a poor touch with net shots since I can't finish them off.

I don't mind sticking with Carlton but am open ears to other racket brands. After reading all 82 pages of the Adidas badminton racket reviews I don't mind trying that out.

I've looked at 'Carlton Razor 1.3' and also 'adidas F500', I don't know which of them two would be better but then again I don't mind playing with a different racket balance. My budget is up to $125

Feel free to ask me anymore questions that I haven't mentioned in this thread.

2. amleto

amleto Regular Member

:confused: