User Tag List

Results 1 to 12 of 12

Thread: Quotes

  1. #1
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Glasgow, Scotland
    Posts
    1,920
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Quotes

    Kwun

    Why when I quote from what others post it does not come up "Originally posted by" and as Cooler noticed it does not come out in bold either! I noticed this on the thread about "what people do when waiting for courts"

    Is there a problem somewhere ?

  2. #2
    Administrator kwun's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Santa Clara, California, United States
    Posts
    35,941
    Mentioned
    54 Post(s)
    Tagged
    2 Thread(s)

    Default

    do you quote by hand, or do you hit the "quote" button?

  3. #3
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Glasgow, Scotland
    Posts
    1,920
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    I have tried three methods:

    (i) I copy the portion and then click on "post reply" and click the quote button and then paste.

    (ii) I click on the "post reply" and then copy from the posts which appear under the bit that allows you to enter your post, then click the quote button and paste.

    (iii) I have tried copying the portion by typing in the part of the post in the quote section.

    Am I doing something wrong?

  4. #4
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Basement Boiler Room
    Posts
    22,118
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    try clicking on the quote tab on the extreme lower right hand corner.

  5. #5
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Leeds, UK
    Posts
    5,436
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    As a matter of fact I always wondered how to do that, being pretty inept with computers I usually make my own, by saying Quote (jamesd20) : "blah blah blah"

    I am always wondering if one day I will be able to do it properly.

  6. #6
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Glasgow, Scotland
    Posts
    1,920
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    If it is the one beside the List button, then I am using this in every example. When the small box comes up to put the text in this is the one I type in or paste to.

  7. #7
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Leeds, UK
    Posts
    5,436
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Originally posted by jamesd20
    As a matter of fact I always wondered how to do that, being pretty inept with computers I usually make my own, by saying Quote (jamesd20) : "blah blah blah"

    I am always wondering if one day I will be able to do it properly.

    Ha! it works! I presume to delete some of the text you just can delete any part of it ?(maybe rendering it not a quote!)

  8. #8
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Glasgow, Scotland
    Posts
    1,920
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Originally posted by Dill
    If it is the one beside the List button, then I am using this in every example. When the small box comes up to put the text in this is the one I type in or paste to.
    Thanks Cooler, got it. The other quote button!

  9. #9
    Administrator kwun's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Santa Clara, California, United States
    Posts
    35,941
    Mentioned
    54 Post(s)
    Tagged
    2 Thread(s)

    Default

    Originally posted by Dill
    If it is the one beside the List button, then I am using this in every example. When the small box comes up to put the text in this is the one I type in or paste to.
    the "List button"? are you guys sure you are using BF?!?

  10. #10
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Glasgow, Scotland
    Posts
    1,920
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Yes Kwun, the quote button beside the List button in the post page after you have clicked on the post reply button

    Have tried to put in the screen shot but can't upload because it is not a valid format.

    How do I stick up a screen shot?

  11. #11
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    276
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Originally posted by Dill
    Yes Kwun, the quote button beside the List button in the post page after you have clicked on the post reply button

    Have tried to put in the screen shot but can't upload because it is not a valid format.

    How do I stick up a screen shot?
    ALT-PRINT SCREEN, PASTE IN PAINT, CUT, AND SAVE IN JPEG.

    How could you overlook the quote button anyway? It's right next to the edit button,
    which I'm sure you've used.
    Attached Images Attached Images  

  12. #12
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Glasgow, Scotland
    Posts
    1,920
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Do you see on your post the list of buttons above where you enter your text?

    I use the quote button from there, not the one on the right of the main thread!

    OK so I'm a twit!!!

Similar Threads

  1. Literary Quotable Quotes
    By Fidget in forum Chit-Chat
    Replies: 9
    : 02-04-2009, 05:56 AM
  2. Famous/infamous/inspirational quotes
    By Bbn in forum Chit-Chat
    Replies: 32
    : 03-20-2005, 10:19 AM
  3. Quotes
    By Jinryu in forum Techniques / Training
    Replies: 11
    : 12-29-2004, 07:48 AM
  4. Quotes
    By Matt Ross in forum Forum Feedback
    Replies: 4
    : 06-07-2002, 07:40 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •