Hi From Break-My-String

Discussion in 'Introduction' started by Break-My-String, Dec 10, 2003.

1. Break-My-String

Break-My-String Regular Member

Hello to all BF members,

My name is Karl, and I am the organizer of the Sunday Intermediate/Advanced Badminton session at the Collingwood Neighbourhood House in Vancouver, BC (more about Collingwood later). It was WOOD_22_CHUCK (Dave), who referred me to this great site, and now here I am signing up to be a member.

My History:
    I started playing backyard badminton as a kid, but quickly got bored of hitting it "nicely" to the other guy and had to try something different (besides, we didn’t know the rules). We decided to eliminate the net and the grass! That meant, we're playing on the street, wacking the rubber bird (yes, the outdoor supersonic tubo-charged ones) back-and-forth to the height of the streetlamps, standing 2-3 houses apart, and trying to negotiate the bird between the tall maple trees. We got so desperate to play that we even tried painting the bird neon-yellow in order to see in the dark! I don't know if we invented the first "yellow shuttle".

Fast forward a bit to my first year of junior-high. I easily made it as the junior boys singles (all that street-wacking helped), but unfortunately, the coaching only went up to the basics and nothing more on strategy except "hit it where your opponent is not". I thought, that was as far as I can go and I gave up badminton to try other sports.

Skip to my senior-years, I came back to badminton because there was a change in the coaching, plus my hormones noticed a few cute girls playing on the team. By the time I hit university, I had the agility and the power but needed to improve on tactics (for you younger guys, badminton babes looks even better in university!).