New to badminton, a few questions and such.

Discussion in 'General Forum' started by tropicalmouse, Dec 14, 2003.

1. tropicalmouse

tropicalmouse Regular Member

Student
    To begin, I am fairly new to badminton. I have been playing for the past four years at an average of five times a year. This year I have really begun to enjoy the game and had played more in the last few weeks then I had in my life.

The school try-outs are coming up but I have a few major problems:

-miss the court left and right
    -hit it too far too often
    -hit flat smashes
    -have no power on backhand
    -have little power in forehand clear (often find it difficult to clear it end to end)
    -lose significant power over time
    -am uncomfortable with running backwards
    -mis-judge where birdie is and often rush to birdie's that are going out

I have referred to the articles listed on this website briefly, but would prefer if I could ask some direct questions on the subject.

In my opinion the obvious reason for my short-coming lies in my inexperiance, but more importantly I feel I have poor form which I want to combat early on - preventing bad habits to be instilled in me later on.

I am 18 and 6'3" tall and often play against shorter competitors, their returns are often just above my head which makes it seemingly impossible to hit a strong shot - with my elbow up and my arm extended above my head while I follow through. What do I do in a case like this? Wait and move back, letting the birdie almost hit the ground before sweeping it with my underhand? I am clueless here, I have such long arms and they seem to get in the way, when theoretically they should give me an advantage. . .