Shuttle position before u smash

Discussion in 'Techniques / Training' started by Psycho V, Dec 22, 2003.

1. Psycho V

Psycho V Regular Member

Yo guys, i did a search on smashing stance etc. But did not find any on the birdy position before one smashes.

Assuming that the body is facing the net (shoulders parallet to it), do u folks let the shuttle fall
    1) in front towards your face
    2) in front towards your left shoulder
    3) in front towards your right shoulder
    when u smash?

I was wondering if it should be the left shoulder, since the upper body is twisted leftwards during the smash.

2. cooler

cooler Regular Member

Surfing, reading fan mails:D, Dilithium Crystal hu
    it depends on how steep i want it and what part of body i want to hit on the opponent

3. iluvthesun

iluvthesun Regular Member

yo, i am no pro, but i think that the best position for power is above your right shoulder. this ensures that you make full use of hip rotation (even when you are parallel to the net). it also allows you to change the direction of your smash more easily, e.g. if you are standing on the right a crosscourt smash to the left would be quite deceptive.

whereas if the shuttle is to your left, your only comfortable shot would be to smash to the left. less power is gained this way.

just try it and see for yourself!

talking about position of the shuttle what would you say is a good shuttle height for a smash? height of full arm extension or less? am i right to say that the former does not involve any forearm pronation?

4. xofrevlis

xofrevlis Regular Member

Student
    I'm a jump smasher (well, when I find the time to jump, anyway) and this is how I feel most comfortable when I go up for a smash. Also, note that I'm a righty.