User Tag List

Results 1 to 12 of 12
  1. #1
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Location
    Imphal, India
    Posts
    5
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Serving faults related to net touch by shuttle

    I got a query for net touch by shuttle while serving. Will it be called let?

    All criterias are met for serving while serving but
    Instance 1. The shuttle hits the net top and falls on the receiver service court. Will it be called let.
    Instance 2. The shuttle hits the net top and falls on the receiver court but not on the receiver service court. Will it be called let.

    Or when will be called let on serving.
    Thanking you for reading.

  2. #2
    Administrator kwun's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Santa Clara, California, United States
    Posts
    35,901
    Mentioned
    51 Post(s)
    Tagged
    2 Thread(s)

    Default

    no let on serving.

    if the shuttle touches net and it landed in, it is in. if it landed out, it is out.

  3. #3
    Regular Member Nauroa's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Copenhagen - Denmark
    Posts
    324
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by kwun View Post
    no let on serving.
    If the receiver lets the shuttle drop, indicating he or she wasn't ready. Won't the umpire call a let?
    I can't remember if a let is called or they just redo the serve.

  4. #4
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    WWAAO
    Posts
    2,107
    Mentioned
    6 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    During service, a let is only called when there is an interference to play (e.g. shuttle from neighbouring court falls onto court in question) or if the receiver is not ready and clearly indicates this before attempting to play the shuttle (e.g. by raising a hand).

  5. #5
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    1,762
    Mentioned
    22 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by llpjlau View Post
    During service, a let is only called when there is an interference to play (e.g. shuttle from neighbouring court falls onto court in question) or if the receiver is not ready and clearly indicates this before attempting to play the shuttle (e.g. by raising a hand).
    Wrong. The receiver does not need to indicate they are not ready. If they attempt to play the shuttle at all, then they are deemed to be ready.

  6. #6
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    WWAAO
    Posts
    2,107
    Mentioned
    6 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    What I meant was, clearly indicate that they are not ready without attempting to play the shuttle.

    Quote Originally Posted by amleto View Post
    Wrong. The receiver does not need to indicate they are not ready. If they attempt to play the shuttle at all, then they are deemed to be ready.
    The receiver DOES need to indicate they are not ready.
    Last edited by llpjlau; 08-13-2013 at 05:18 AM.

  7. #7
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    1,762
    Mentioned
    22 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by llpjlau View Post
    What I meant was, clearly indicate that they are not ready without attempting to play the shuttle.

    The receiver DOES need to indicate they are not ready.
    No they don't. It is not in the rules anywhere. They do not have to actively indicate they are not ready. e.g. they can be talking to partner, or looking at the floor. It is umpires decision. The player DOES NOT need to indicate non-readyness.

  8. #8
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    WWAAO
    Posts
    2,107
    Mentioned
    6 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Good luck trying to get an umpire to call a let if you just stand there and stare at the shuttle.

    You do not necessarily have to indicate that you are not ready but it sure helps your case if you do. If you are obviously talking to your partner and the opponent serves, then it is obvious that you are not ready. What if it's not obvious? Do you just stand there and not indicate at all? How many umpires will likely call a let if you do that?

    Anyway, this is getting off topic. I believe the initial questions have been answered.
    Last edited by llpjlau; 08-13-2013 at 06:00 AM.

  9. #9
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    1,762
    Mentioned
    22 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by llpjlau View Post
    The receiver DOES need to indicate they are not ready.
    Quote Originally Posted by llpjlau View Post
    You do not necessarily have to indicate that you are not ready but it sure helps your case if you do.
    Just admit when you're wrong...

  10. #10
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    WWAAO
    Posts
    2,107
    Mentioned
    6 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    The rules may not explicitly state that you have to indicate that you are not ready, but please enlighten us how an umpire is going to call a let if you just stand there and stare at the shuttle?

    P.S.
    The fact that I phrased my statement somewhat wrongly does not diminish the fact that it would be very difficult for an umpire to award a let if you not show that you are not ready. Common sense dictates that you indicate to the umpire to explicitly show that you are not ready. Otherwise, who is going to automatically award you a let if it was not obvious that you were not ready?
    Last edited by llpjlau; 08-13-2013 at 06:56 AM.

  11. #11
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    UK lor
    Posts
    63
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    i think most umpires will expect a hand gesture. If players start saying they are not ready when they are stunned by a flick serve or a serve to the side lines, then its just going to be a mess. And honestly, if the player is in position and then starts watching the floor or talks with his partner without a hand sign to his opponent, it is his fault. Even if the player gets distracted by the opponent like in http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XjeGAAAJLJk, there is nothing in the rules that says it is a fault or a let, the umpire is free to decide whether he will allow it or not.

  12. #12
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Location
    Imphal, India
    Posts
    5
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Thank you all for helping me understand my query. I got it.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •