User Tag List

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 17 of 19
  1. #1
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    The Netherlands, Pakistan
    Posts
    142
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Is it allowed to resign from a 'set'?

    I don't think it is but just wanted to check...for instance, if a player has won the first set but in the 2nd set is far behind his/her opponent (say 0-10). Then is it possible to give up 'that' set inorder to save some energy for the final game? Would be nice won't it?

  2. #2
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Glasgow, Scotland
    Posts
    1,917
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    I don't think so

    If you resigned you would have to resign from the entire game and forefeit the match, it would be easier to just give the remaining points away by hitting fake smashes into the net or hitting clears out of the back of the court so that your actions do not look too suspicious.

  3. #3
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    276
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    [delete].

  4. #4
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Coquitlam
    Posts
    1,045
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    If you're already losing that bad and you think you have absolutely no way (and I mean absolutely no way because I've seen some ppl come bak from 0-14 to beating their opponent 16-14) then you could just let their serve drop

    Otherwise just go for it, the time you spend losing energy ur opponent will also, no loss in trying

  5. #5
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Basement Boiler Room
    Posts
    22,118
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Originally posted by Dill
    I don't think so

    If you resigned you would have to resign from the entire game and forefeit the match, it would be easier to just give the remaining points away by hitting fake smashes into the net or hitting clears out of the back of the court so that your actions do not look too suspicious.
    LOL, IBF will reprimand him for throwing a game

  6. #6
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    54
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Originally posted by Dill
    I don't think so

    If you resigned you would have to resign from the entire game and forefeit the match, it would be easier to just give the remaining points away by hitting fake smashes into the net or hitting clears out of the back of the court so that your actions do not look too suspicious.
    If you were playing in a world championship match, you might be forced to admit you were rigging the match. hehe

  7. #7
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    San Jose, California
    Posts
    1,638
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Instead of hitting fake smashes into the net or hitting clears out of the back of the court, I did see a lot of matches that the players gave up a game simply stop chasing down every shots and save energy for the next game. I doubt if the players will be reprimanded.

  8. #8
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    singapore
    Posts
    175
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    just go for it, no big deal even if u lose embarrassingly.
    one will look like such a sore loser if he/she gives up just like dat.
    even if it seems impossible, still must give it a shot coz at least winning a few points back as some saving grace.
    at least u break the duck ya.

  9. #9
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Burnaby, BC, Canada
    Posts
    3,511
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    You could just take it easy and drop and clear your way out of the 2nd set

  10. #10
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Winnipeg, Canada
    Posts
    89
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    This would be the best time for you to try new stradegies to figure out why you were in that situation in the first place. Or else the same will continue in the next set.

  11. #11
    Regular Member wilfredlgf's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Malaysia
    Posts
    2,579
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    If it's for me, I'd go ahead and try to stretch the other guy to see how much fighting spirit I have. The other thing I'd try is perhaps shots which I am not used to - using this as a perfect ground to test if I can carry out strokes in a real game.

    Even at 0 - 10, I think I'd still try to fight back because losing 10-15 is definitely nicer than 0-15.

  12. #12
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Outside the box
    Posts
    13,189
    Mentioned
    33 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)

    Default

    Originally posted by teddy
    If you were playing in a world championship match, you might be forced to admit you were rigging the match. hehe
    There was one match 1999 WC mens singles s/final, Fund Permadi won the 1st set against Peter Gade, lost the 2nd set 15-1, then won the 3rd set 15-14. I'm guessing Fung was taking a breather.

  13. #13
    Administrator kwun's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Santa Clara, California, United States
    Posts
    35,915
    Mentioned
    52 Post(s)
    Tagged
    2 Thread(s)

    Default

    if i were you, i would use the oppotunity to run the opponent around a little bit, do some fast clears, slow but tight drops, hit to all 4 corners. since you are planning to give away the set anyway, might as well get something out of it...

  14. #14
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Glasgow, Scotland
    Posts
    1,917
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Cooler & Teddy

    I thought you could still be booted out of a competition if organisers see you giving games away, I didn't think it mattered at what level you play it's the principle.

  15. #15
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Posts
    299
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    i think this happened during china open 2003...

    when Zhou Mi Faces Gong Ruina In the Final...

    gong Resigned In the Second Set ,she told the umpire she couldn't go on... her knee is very painful

  16. #16
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Toronto
    Posts
    531
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Originally posted by fhchiang
    i think this happened during china open 2003...

    when Zhou Mi Faces Gong Ruina In the Final...

    gong Resigned In the Second Set ,she told the umpire she couldn't go on... her knee is very painful
    This is a very different scenario. Gong lost her first set and then asked to resigned in the second set because of pain, thus forfeiting her match. The original posted asked if you win your first set, whether your'e allowed to resign in the second set and then focus on the third set.

  17. #17
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Ontario
    Posts
    547
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    I sort of did this before a couple years ago in what is still the best match I've ever played. (relative to my skill and opponent at the time) I won first set 15-12 or so, was too winded and got crushed 4-15 second set, used the full 5 minute break, then and was down 4-10 and 10-14 during the third game, fought back and won 17-14. The second game was kind of a rest for me, and combined with the 5 minute break was the only thing that let me back into the match.

    My mom still says I was just lucky...

    Phil

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Is prompting allowed in doubles?
    By godknife in forum Rules / Tournament Regulation / Officiating
    Replies: 11
    : 03-10-2010, 07:43 PM
  2. Is this allowed or against the rule?
    By tlautlau in forum Rules / Tournament Regulation / Officiating
    Replies: 18
    : 10-01-2009, 11:26 PM
  3. Will Rexy Resign This Time????
    By reiko80 in forum Olympics BEIJING 2008
    Replies: 174
    : 08-18-2008, 09:44 AM
  4. Is it allowed?
    By CliveH in forum Thomas Laybourn Forum
    Replies: 2
    : 05-11-2006, 06:34 PM
  5. Flandy Limpele and Eng Hian resign
    By ray in forum General Forum
    Replies: 5
    : 07-07-2001, 12:05 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •