User Tag List

Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    New Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    Alberta
    Posts
    1
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Returning a serve out of service box

    Can the receiver leave his service box after the server makes initiates the serve (i.e. makes contact with the shuttle)?


    Example: Is the receiver allowed to move forward out of his service box towards the net to return the serve or do his/her feet need to be within the service box when he first makes contact with the shuttle?

    I have a playing partner that leaps forward out of his service box like a wild gazelle to return my serves when I serve short. Would love to hear that he's cheating but from my interpretation of the rules it appears that he's allowed to leave the service box as soon as the server makes contact with the shuttle to initiate the serve.

  2. #2
    Regular Member Rob3rt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    254
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    You can return the service from any position on the court!
    But it's a fault if the receiver moves before you even hit the shuttle.

  3. #3
    Administrator kwun's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Santa Clara, California, United States
    Posts
    35,918
    Mentioned
    54 Post(s)
    Tagged
    2 Thread(s)

    Default

    the receiver must be inside the box before the server strikes the shuttle.

    once after the server strikes the shuttle, it is anybody's game, the receiver can go anywhere he wants.

  4. #4
    Regular Member chris-ccc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    26,675
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Question If the receiver moves before server strikes the shuttle

    Quote Originally Posted by kwun View Post
    once after the server strikes the shuttle, it is anybody's game, the receiver can go anywhere he wants.
    .
    I think the OP is not sure if the receiver is allowed to move before he/she serves.

    The answer is correct - once after the server strikes the shuttle, the receiver can move. But if the receiver moves before server strikes the shuttle, then it is a fault.
    .
    Last edited by chris-ccc; 09-30-2013 at 08:34 PM.

  5. #5
    Regular Member gundamzaku's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Santa Clara County, California, USA
    Posts
    2,496
    Mentioned
    11 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Malzer View Post
    Can the receiver leave his service box after the server makes initiates the serve (i.e. makes contact with the shuttle)?


    Example: Is the receiver allowed to move forward out of his service box towards the net to return the serve or do his/her feet need to be within the service box when he first makes contact with the shuttle?

    I have a playing partner that leaps forward out of his service box like a wild gazelle to return my serves when I serve short. Would love to hear that he's cheating but from my interpretation of the rules it appears that he's allowed to leave the service box as soon as the server makes contact with the shuttle to initiate the serve.
    the last part of your question "he's allowed to leave the service box as soon as the server makes contact with the shuttle to initiate the serve" meaning you are not questioning whether a receiver is allow to or not prior to the serve...because he/she is not allowed. but as soon as you strike the shuttle, he's allow to go anywhere he wants. meaning...as soon as you strike the shuttle on a serve, your opponent is allow to spring forward like a wild gazelle to return your serves when you serve short.

  6. #6
    Regular Member ChubbyCheshire's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Crewe, UK
    Posts
    39
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Sounds like he's vulnerable to a flick serve !

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •