User Tag List

Results 1 to 14 of 14
  1. #1
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    singapore
    Posts
    51
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Umpires call fault on server

    Is this call by umpire (go to minute 17:25) according to the rules?

    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rsVh...ailpage#t=1054

    Service judge can call fault on server, but can umpire call fault on server too?

  2. #2
    Regular Member visor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Vancouver, BC
    Posts
    9,323
    Mentioned
    100 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)

    Default

    Service judge only judges height of service delivery. Umpire can call anything else, in this case the server was standing on the centre line... although this is being really nitpicking considering it was at 19 all.

  3. #3
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Bristol
    Posts
    31
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Service judge can call for Service height of delivery and racket (head) not pointing in a downwards direction. Doing the later invariably means the former fault is also occurring.

    Always find it amusing when players get called on either one they have to go over and check with the service judge despite one of two very clear hand signals are given showing which fault was called.

  4. #4
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    633
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Both the service judge and the umpire can call this kind of fault (foot touching the line).

  5. #5
    Regular Member gundamzaku's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Santa Clara County, California, USA
    Posts
    2,496
    Mentioned
    11 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)

    Default

    it would be hard for the service judge to judge the "foot on the line" call if the service judge is on the same side as the server serving (left or right), so it would make sense that the umpire have to step in and call the fault.

  6. #6
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    singapore
    Posts
    51
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    It is logically not right for umpire to be allowed to call the fault on server's foot just because the service judge is unable to see the line because being block by the feet/shoe of the server, because it will not be apply to the receiver. Can the service judge call fault on receiver if the same thing happens?

  7. #7
    Regular Member visor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Vancouver, BC
    Posts
    9,323
    Mentioned
    100 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by westcoast_sing View Post
    It is logically not right for umpire to be allowed to call the fault on server's foot just because the service judge is unable to see the line because being block by the feet/shoe of the server, because it will not be apply to the receiver. Can the service judge call fault on receiver if the same thing happens?
    It is a fault for server or receiver to step on the lines during service. The umpire has ultimate authority to call any and all faults.

    It's just that the service judge is seated at the correct height to judge the server and so that is solely his job: whether the racket head has exceeded the allowed height or angle. He has no authority to call any other faults on the server nor receiver.

    But what's unusual in this case is that the umpire was paying attention to the server whereas he's supposed to pay attention to the receiver at service to make sure the receiver doesn't move before service delivery.
    Last edited by visor; 10-17-2013 at 08:45 PM.

  8. #8
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    singapore
    Posts
    51
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by visor View Post
    It is a fault for server or receiver to step on the lines during service. The umpire has ultimate authority to call any and all faults.

    It's just that the service judge is seated at the correct height to judge the server and so that is solely his job: whether the racket head has exceeded the allowed height or angle. He has no authority to call any other faults on the server nor receiver.

    But what's unusual in this case is that the umpire was paying attention to the server whereas he's supposed to pay attention to the receiver at service to make sure the receiver doesn't move before service delivery.
    Ic, i understand now that the umpire has the right to call the fault on the server.

    Is that mean that the rules is not really well cover yet? Because there is a loophole in the rules where umpire has to cover both sides (server and receiver).

  9. #9
    Regular Member visor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Vancouver, BC
    Posts
    9,323
    Mentioned
    100 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)

    Default

    http://www.worldbadminton.com/rules/

    The umpire calls every let and fault that he sees during the game according to the rules above, including and not limited to:

    delays of service,
    service errors as discussed (like receiver moving before service delivery, server/receiver stepping on lines at service, etc)
    shuttle being hit twice,
    shuttle touching the body/clothing,
    hitting shuttle before crossing over net,
    touching the net,
    blocking your opponents stroke or follow thru,
    encroachment under the net,
    distraction,
    poor sportsmanship,
    etc.


    He can even overrule any line calls if he sees fit.

    The only thing he can't judge due to his high chair position is left to the service judge, whether the racket head was within the correct height and angle. And that's all the service judge does, nothing else. No other faults. Zilch. As a matter of fact, he doesn't even need to speak... he just raises his arm either high or at an upward angle.
    Last edited by visor; 10-17-2013 at 09:24 PM.

  10. #10
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    NorCal, United States
    Posts
    884
    Mentioned
    5 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Yes, umpires can call service faults.

    3.3.1.3
    during the service, if a service judge is appointed, especially watch the
    receiver. The Umpire may also call service fault, if necessary;

    The umpire does focus mostly on the receiver, but also keep an eye on the server as well.

    Like said above, the service judge's job is just to be nothing but deciding whether or not a serve is legal. But they will also assist umpires in times of need (discreetly)

  11. #11
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    www.badmintonbetting.blogspot.co.uk
    Posts
    236
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Didn't want to start a new thread but I have a question regarding service faults.

    The two main ways to be faulted are;
    a) Serving above the waist
    b) The shaft of the racquet is pointing upward

    My question: Is it even possible to serve from below the waist with the racquet head pointing up? Surely at all times a fault serve is from serving too high?!?!

  12. #12
    Administrator kwun's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Santa Clara, California, United States
    Posts
    35,918
    Mentioned
    53 Post(s)
    Tagged
    2 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by *___* View Post
    Didn't want to start a new thread but I have a question regarding service faults.

    The two main ways to be faulted are;
    a) Serving above the waist
    b) The shaft of the racquet is pointing upward

    My question: Is it even possible to serve from below the waist with the racquet head pointing up? Surely at all times a fault serve is from serving too high?!?!
    the definition of the waist is the lowest rib. that's just around where the elbow is. so it is very possible to serve below the waist and have racket point upwards from horizontal.

  13. #13
    Regular Member visor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Vancouver, BC
    Posts
    9,323
    Mentioned
    100 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)

    Default

    Definitely. Especially during a flick serve.

  14. #14
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    296
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by visor View Post
    The only thing he can't judge due to his high chair position is left to the service judge, whether the racket head was within the correct height and angle. And that's all the service judge does, nothing else. No other faults. Zilch. As a matter of fact, he doesn't even need to speak... he just raises his arm either high or at an upward angle.
    Well there are some more service faults, like moving your feet and double action. Also the service judge is in charge of handing out new shuttles, and will go stand next to the umpire for a small-talk in between games.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •