User Tag List

Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    New Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    NY
    Posts
    1
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Ruling on Birdie Impaling Racket String Bed and Getting Stuck

    So this happened in the middle of a point we were playing where the birdie impaled the string bed and got stuck in the racket. On impact there was a loud cracking sound where the middle vertical string pair snapped and the bird went through the remaining string bed all in one stroke. We gave our opponents the point but what would be the correct ruling? Let? Fault?

    Name:  Birdie Stuck in Racket.jpg
Views: 382
Size:  48.3 KB

  2. #2
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    633
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    You did the right thing. It's a fault.

  3. #3
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    2,866
    Mentioned
    12 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    You may have lost the point, but you have a great photo!

  4. #4
    Regular Member Mark A's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    St Helens, UK
    Posts
    4,161
    Mentioned
    15 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    This happened to me at a tourney once - that moment of utter bewilderment when you look for the shuttle on court...

  5. #5
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    OutHere
    Posts
    22
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    You pulled a Kindervater!

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=etjU9JcR7yc


    @2:15.

    Congrats!

    PS: BTW, it is a great video

  6. #6
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    US
    Posts
    337
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Excellent pic on reminder of where NOT to make contact with birdie on racket. I'm more impressed how the racket is balanced and standing for the pic.

  7. #7
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    15
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    I guess you could have tossed your racket over the net and if it landed in the court you'd have won the point!

  8. #8
    Regular Member gundamzaku's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Santa Clara County, California, USA
    Posts
    2,496
    Mentioned
    11 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)

    Default

    fault is correct, btw, what is the make and model of the racket as well as the shuttle???

  9. #9
    Administrator kwun's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Santa Clara, California, United States
    Posts
    35,918
    Mentioned
    53 Post(s)
    Tagged
    2 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by gundamzaku View Post
    fault is correct, btw, what is the make and model of the racket as well as the shuttle???
    I see "FZ FORZA" printed in the inside frame.

    as for the original question. yes. it is a fault.

    and to understand why, as this is essentially the same as carrying the shuttle. understandably, it is unusual and the hitter didn't intentional do it, but non-the-less, the only person to blame is the person holding the racket.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •