User Tag List

Page 9 of 9 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9
Results 137 to 143 of 143
  1. #137
    Regular Member visor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Vancouver, BC
    Posts
    10,294
    Mentioned
    139 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)

    Default

    In the Adcock/Adcock vs Liu/Bao XD yesterday, Bao challenged a line call on the opponent's rear sideline. Only to be told by the umpire that there're no cameras on the sidelines to do a video review.

  2. #138
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    HK
    Posts
    4,268
    Mentioned
    7 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    what if the line judge is unsighted, for example his view was blocked by the player. Can the instant review system step in and help?

  3. #139
    Regular Member Loh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Singapore Also Can
    Posts
    12,809
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by pcll99 View Post
    what if the line judge is unsighted, for example his view was blocked by the player. Can the instant review system step in and help?
    In this case the line judge should signal that he is 'unsighted' for the umpire to call 'let', if the umpire is also unable to make a decision whether the bird lands in or out.

    Can a 'let' be challenged by a player?

  4. #140
    Regular Member craigandy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    1,888
    Mentioned
    18 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Here is the complete rules from BWF on instant review. None of the above circumstances are covered so there is no answer


    1. INSTANT REVIEW SYSTEM

    1.1 On a court where an Instant Review system is in operation a player/pair may
    challenge a Line-judges call, or the overrule call of an Umpire.

    2. PLAYER CHALLENGE

    2.1 The challenge must be made immediately the shuttle has landed and the call
    made, and before the commencement of the serve for the next rally.

    2.2 On receiving the playerís challenge the Umpire will signal the Referee who will
    review the line call using the Instant Review system.

    2.3 If the call by the line-judge or overrule by the Umpire is deemed incorrect, the
    players challenge is successful, and the decision by the line-judge or Umpire is
    reversed.

    3. LOSING THE RIGHT TO CHALLENGE

    3.1 A player/pair has two rights to challenge line calls during the duration of the
    match.
    3.2 If a call, after review, is deemed correct then the player/pair loses one right to
    challenge.

    3.2 If the player/pair is deemed to have incorrectly challenged twice then they lose
    any further right to challenge during the match.

    3.3 If the player/pairís challenge is successful they retain the right to challenge and
    do not lose it.

  5. #141
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    NorCal, United States
    Posts
    939
    Mentioned
    5 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    I think this question becomes more of, if the line judge is unsighted and there is a camera in place for that line, does it automatically get reviewed or is it still just considered a let.

    Technically there is no "challenge". The challenge cannot be deemed "correct" or "incorrect". If a player was able to ask for a review of such shot, I'd assume they might as well review all unsighted lines that have a camera anyways.

  6. #142
    Moderator cobalt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Arrakis
    Posts
    8,905
    Mentioned
    44 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)

    Default

    ^ To borrow from cricket. The fact that a decision cannot be made by the eyes on court should mean that the decision must automatically be referred to DRS by the umpire. This would make the Let obsolete.

    The review is initiated by the umpire, so it does not originate from either players' side and therefore, is not counted out from their "review allowance."

  7. #143
    Regular Member Loh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Singapore Also Can
    Posts
    12,809
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Maybe BWF should clarify such a dispute in their Laws e.g. A challenge is not allowed in a Let call by the umpire.

    If the Let call makes a difference in winning or losing a match, it matters a lot. If the LJ was distracted or not paying full attention and he signaled "unsighted" to the umpire who called "Let" this wont be fair to the player who claimed his shot was "in".

    So can a Let call be challenged if a camera video is available for review?

Page 9 of 9 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •