User Tag List

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 17 of 21
  1. #1
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    268
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Shuttle hitting the net on a serve

    If the shuttle hits the net on serve and lands in the receivers court - it is a valid serve correct?

    A club member is convinced if the shuttle hits the net on a serve it is a fault.

    Thanks in advance

  2. #2
    Administrator kwun's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Santa Clara, California, United States
    Posts
    35,915
    Mentioned
    52 Post(s)
    Tagged
    2 Thread(s)

    Default

    no. the rally continues.

    ask him to stop watching tennis!

  3. #3
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    268
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by kwun View Post
    no. the rally continues.

    ask him to stop watching tennis!
    Thanks Kwun,
    Not even Tennis - he takes the point - he doesn't even give a "Let"!

  4. #4
    Administrator kwun's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Santa Clara, California, United States
    Posts
    35,915
    Mentioned
    52 Post(s)
    Tagged
    2 Thread(s)

    Default

    tell him he doesn't know what he is talking about.

  5. #5
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Carboard box mansion
    Posts
    1,020
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    if hits the net and goes over then continue the rally. and if drops before the service line then OUT.

    ideally you'd want to avoid hitting the net on the serve as much as possible lol

  6. #6
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Smashikon, Driveland
    Posts
    593
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Heong View Post
    1. if hits the net and goes over then continue the rally. and if drops before the service line then OUT.

    2. ideally you'd want to avoid hitting the net on the serve as much as possible lol
    1. is true.
    2. is not

  7. #7
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    268
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by |_Footwork_| View Post
    1. is true.
    2. is not
    Hitting the net and making a good serve is tough thing to do - I would think.

  8. #8
    Regular Member ein_roboter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    75
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    If you can produce a tight service with the shuttle hitting the net; excellent. Especially in doubles/mixed, as the flight of the shuttle slightly gets defected, thus making it more difficult for the opponents to return (= driving it back). As others are mentioning it, it's pretty legal.

  9. #9
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    268
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ein_roboter View Post
    If you can produce a tight service with the shuttle hitting the net; excellent. Especially in doubles/mixed, as the flight of the shuttle slightly gets defected, thus making it more difficult for the opponents to return (= driving it back). As others are mentioning it, it's pretty legal.
    Wouldn't hitting the net pop the shuttle up - setting up for a quick kill

  10. #10
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Outside the box
    Posts
    13,189
    Mentioned
    33 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by catman View Post
    Wouldn't hitting the net pop the shuttle up - setting up for a quick kill
    Try it yourself....

  11. #11
    Regular Member gundamzaku's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Santa Clara County, California, USA
    Posts
    2,485
    Mentioned
    11 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by catman View Post
    If the shuttle hits the net on serve and lands in the receivers court - it is a valid serve correct?

    A club member is convinced if the shuttle hits the net on a serve it is a fault.

    Thanks in advance
    for someone who doesn't know much, i don't see how one can be so sure of something so wrong, unless he's doing what kwun said, watching a lot of tennis, and then makes assumptions about the rules in badminton. still shouldn't they just say "i'm not sure" and find out instead of being so sure of something so wrong without anything to back it up?

    that was to the club member who is convinced that serve hitting the net is a fault, not to catman
    Last edited by gundamzaku; 12-20-2013 at 10:50 AM.

  12. #12
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    268
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by gundamzaku View Post
    for someone who doesn't know much, i don't see how one can be so sure of something so wrong, unless he's doing what kwun said, watching a lot of tennis, and then makes assumptions about the rules in badminton. still shouldn't they just say "i'm not sure" and find out instead of being so sure of something so wrong without anything to back it up?

    that was to the club member who is convinced that serve hitting the net is a fault, not to catman
    Thanks for your response. It's a very social/recreational club. People have developed their own rules, not sure how they came across it. Also, the person in question is a senior citizen - so I guess not many people questioned him on it.
    Since, it's a social type situation - there aren't too many arguments - we just let things go.
    But I just wanted to make sure I did know the proper rule.

  13. #13
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Maritime canada
    Posts
    525
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Maybe a silly question but I started playing after the new rules were being used (2007?) maybe? Anyway before the new rules wasn't it a let or fault if it hit on service?

  14. #14
    Administrator kwun's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Santa Clara, California, United States
    Posts
    35,915
    Mentioned
    52 Post(s)
    Tagged
    2 Thread(s)

    Default

    it has never been a let when the shuttle touches the net on service. ever.

    stop thinking about tennis!

  15. #15
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Maritime canada
    Posts
    525
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    I'm just going by tales of yore from before I played. They did change a of rules back then didn't they?

  16. #16
    New Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    Calicut - India
    Posts
    4
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Wink

    Quote Originally Posted by kwun View Post
    no. the rally continues.

    ask him to stop watching tennis!
    hehe.. thats it :

  17. #17
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    local to the coast
    Posts
    286
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    i've encountered some older generation asian 'uncles' who're adamant and look pissed as if we're trying to discredit them and ruin their 'image' and that we're the ones with made-up rules ahem. Some are really good, both with their graze-the-net serves and incredible explanations if something goes wrong lol. most of the time though, i'm convinced they know the rules and are doing it just for the sake of entertainment so we let them 're-serve' quite often

    ps: there're some older women who take it to heart and look at us so seriously their eyes would burn a hole right through when we say their rules are wrong. i've learnt my lesson and prefer not to umpire or officiate games with (older) females at local event lol
    Last edited by drmchsraj; 01-23-2014 at 11:29 AM.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •