Results 1 to 9 of 9
Thread: "Serve-switch"... is this legal?
01-01-2014, 05:55 AM #1
"Serve-switch"... is this legal?
Is a "serve-switch" considered legal in a tournament? Last week during a match, one of the elders positioned himself to do a backhand serve.... then at the very last minute he "switched" to the forehand and served high. He did like 3 times in the match itself. Even my partner was like "WTF is that serve?".
01-01-2014, 10:44 AM #2
I think it's legal. There's nothing in the rules that I can see is against this.
01-01-2014, 11:36 AM #3
Legal unless he switches after he has started forward motion of the racket head towards the shuttle, in which case it's a double motion and is considered a fault.
01-01-2014, 11:40 AM #4
only noobs do that...
01-02-2014, 11:35 AM #5
To switch from backhand to forehand after setting up the racket head must move forward - so it is a fault
01-02-2014, 01:09 PM #6
Legal unless the forward had begun as VISOR said, every player entitles to his her routine before serving.
01-02-2014, 01:44 PM #7
there is nothing in the rules that governs whether the service is forehand or backhand, nor does it say anything about stance or preparation except that the first forward movement must be continuous and that the feet must be in constant contact to the ground.
given that the server abide to those rules, he can be as creative and unconventional as he can.
gundamzaku liked this post
01-02-2014, 01:45 PM #8
01-02-2014, 04:59 PM #9