Results 1 to 10 of 10
01-17-2014, 04:52 AM #1
Shuttlecock hits the opponent body while he is out of the court
If the shuttle cock hits the body of opponent player from outside the court (although he was not trying to take it) who gets the point? Me or the opponent?
Thanks in advance for your answers
01-17-2014, 05:10 AM #2
you get the point.
nijasmd liked this post
01-17-2014, 05:15 AM #3
Thanks Leo. My opponent said that he was not trying to take it (actually he didn't get time to react for it) so he gets the point. Does it matters from where or from how far the shuttle hits the player's body or if he is trying or not?
01-17-2014, 05:22 AM #4
Nope, it doesn't matter. If it hits your opponent you get the point.
01-17-2014, 05:24 AM #5
he must avoid the shuttle hitting to his body. It doesn't matter from where or from how far the shuttle hits the player's body. the shuttle must be landed to the ground outside of the court, then he can get the point. of course, if you guys are playing not seriously, just social game, the rule is in all yours mouth.
01-17-2014, 06:59 AM #6
hehe.. thanks a lot guys. We're new to this game and we love this game. Thanks again
01-17-2014, 02:17 PM #7
unfortunately things like, "i wasn't trying to touch it" but touched it anyway, isn't going to be a very good rule. if he touches it, then it is a fault, if not, then wait till it hits the floor and see if it is in or out.
01-17-2014, 03:07 PM #8
I have to say Badminton players (recreational ones) have the weirdest rule concepts ever! None of them ever even bothered to read the rules - yet seem to think they've got some divine knowledge of the rules!
01-17-2014, 06:47 PM #9
Well, most of we recreational players learned rules from "the old guys", rather than having read the rule book. It isn't an unusual way to gain knowledge in any endeavour. ("See one, do one, teach one" is a long-standing motto in at least one profession).
But it can be annoying when someone argues a point based on their 'tradition' even when they are presented with the relevant written rule.
01-23-2014, 11:36 AM #10
i've seen it happen. some reasons:
a) can't wait till it touches the ground so the rally is done ---> use the time to recover ur energy!
b) feel it's a way to show off their judgment skills --> winning the game makes a better point
c) don't want to bend over and pick it up --> learn to pick it up with the racket. if you do it right, the racket head won't lose paint, and you can see it as a chance for some wrist action
d) Many are lazy or impatient ---> stop playing, this is a game of control and skill above anything else