Results 1 to 4 of 4
02-02-2014, 01:03 PM #1
Halt signal by a partner in the back in doubles
doubles game, a player is about to receive. his partner (standing a bit in the back) raises his hand as a "wait" signal, but the opponent serves and the player receives the serve as he hasn't seen his partner's signal, and loses the point. Then the umpire says "stop". All this happens fast, almost simultaneously.
So the opponents claim it's their point since the opponent received the serve. The umpire says it's not, since there was a halt signal. Who's right?
02-02-2014, 01:32 PM #2
14.2 It shall be a ‘let”, if:
14.2.5 in the opinion of the umpire, play is disrupted or a player of the opposing side is distracted by a coach;
The umpire was right.
02-04-2014, 04:55 PM #3
Then the officious meddling took place, when there was no need. What the umpire could have done was not call "stop" after the serve was delivered legally. S/he did not have any reason to call "let" as the receiver was ready, the server and his/her teammate were not distracted. In other words, there was no violation of Law 14.2.5.
Only the receiver must be ready, per law, the receiver's partner may decide to take a hike on his/her side of the court, raise hand/leg, tie shoelaces on court, whatever, as long as s/he does not distract the server, there is no requirement that the receiver's partner must be ready for the serve to take place.
02-04-2014, 06:06 PM #4
I'd pull him aside and issue him a warning for delay of play, and warn him the next time it'll be a yellow card.