Managing Injuries and Pain

Discussion in 'Injuries' started by SmashAndDash, Jan 17, 2014.

1. SmashAndDash

SmashAndDash Regular Member

Whether you play badminton recreationally or competitively, injuries happen. However, there are ways to minimize the amount of injuries and pain from badminton.

Note: As posted in the forum disclaimer, it is always best to seek a medical professional's advice. The following advice is given in the context of managing a diagnosed injury, or reducing pain from soreness/exertion. I am NOT a doctor, so please take this advice with a grain of salt.

Tips to Prevent Injury:
    1. Always warm-up and stretch properly.
      • ​A proper physical warm-up should make you break a sweat. If you are not sweating, you should warm up some more.
      • Having stiff, tight, or otherwise inflexible muscles may lead to injury. Flexibility tends to decrease with age, so you should take an active approach to flexibility. There has been recent controversy over static vs. dynamic stretching, but in general, stretching is better than not stretching.
      • When warming up on the court, start with easier shots (like drives) before moving onto shots that require more physical exertion (like clears or smashes).
      • Example warm-up:
        • Light jog for 3-5 minutes (transition from a brisk walk to a light jog over a longer period of time if you are recovering from injury, or are very unfit).
        • Stretching routine: Rolling wrists/ankles, arm circles to warm up shoulders, forearm circles, slow trunk twists, knee circles, static stretching of the arms, shoulders, quadriceps, hamstring, calves, back, etc.
        • Light footwork for 3-5 minutes
        • Hitting warm up: drives, net shots, drops, clears, smashes.
    2. Wear proper attire
      • Wearing shoes not meant for badminton, or shoes that do not fit well can lead to injury.
        • Shoes should fit well and not need a "break in period"