User Tag List

Results 1 to 12 of 12
  1. #1
    New Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    California
    Posts
    2
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Serve hits opponent's partner

    In doubles, if a player serves but it goes straight and hits the receiver's partner in the body, whose point is that?

  2. #2
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Smashikon, Driveland
    Posts
    632
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    It's the server's point!

  3. #3
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    215
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Shouldn't it be the opponent's point? Since it goes straight to the receiver's partner instead of diagonally to the receiver.

    It shall be a ‘fault’:
    13.1 if a service is not correct (Law 9.1);

    Law 9.1.2
    the server and the receiver shall stand within diagonally opposite service courts (Diagram A) without touching the boundary lines of these service courts;

    Law 11.1.4
    The player of the receiving side standing in the diagonally opposite service court to the server shall be the receiver.

    Last edited by alien9113; 02-18-2014 at 05:56 AM. Reason: Corrections

  4. #4
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Smashikon, Driveland
    Posts
    632
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    And how do you know it wouldn't go to the cross court if the other opponent intercepts it?

  5. #5
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    215
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Hmm... no idea. If it would go cross court, I would return it and would not leave it to fate to decide if the opponent will error or my side would error.

    On another note, what if (only what if) if the receiver's partner is standing to close to the T and the shuttle hits him/her first (which may happen in TS' scenario) ? I have seen it happened before...

  6. #6
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Smashikon, Driveland
    Posts
    632
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Where ever the non-returning opponent stands, if he touches/hits the shuttle, it's a fault.

  7. #7
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Location
    vapi
    Posts
    477
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Yup itz d receivers point...

  8. #8
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Smashikon, Driveland
    Posts
    632
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by nilesh123 View Post
    Yup itz d receivers point...

  9. #9
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    @Home
    Posts
    58
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Well look at rule 13.2.3 which states

    13. FAULTS

    It shall be a ‘fault’:

    13.1 if a service is not correct (Law 9.1);

    13.2 if, in service, the shuttle:

    13.2.1 is caught on the net and remains suspended on its top;

    13.2.2 after passing over the net, is caught in the net; or

    13.2.3 is hit by the receiver’s partner;

    So the point goes to the server.

    /Krysser

  10. #10
    Regular Member AlanY's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    England
    Posts
    4,502
    Mentioned
    7 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    that will be fun if the rule say it's the receiver's point as receiver's partner trying hard to offer his/her body to the birdie for some cheap point!

    just imagine when you're about to jump back to return a flip serve and your partner shout out "I get it"!

  11. #11
    Regular Member craigandy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    1,812
    Mentioned
    18 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by nilesh123 View Post
    Yup itz d receivers point...
    lol. Every time my partner was served to I would just run over and do a diving header and it would be my point. That would be a funny game to play and completely silly.


    The shuttle is still in play so it is a fault committed by the receiving team
    13.3.5 touches the person or dress of a player;
    Last edited by craigandy; 02-18-2014 at 09:45 AM.

  12. #12
    Administrator kwun's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Santa Clara, California, United States
    Posts
    35,984
    Mentioned
    55 Post(s)
    Tagged
    2 Thread(s)

    Default

    it doesn't matter where the shuttle is heading towards. the receiver's partner touched the shuttlecock first and as a result the rally ends there and it is a fault commited by the receiver's partner.

    the rule is very clear. "heading towards" is never part of the rule. that will be too silly to put into the rule. for all we know, every shot in badminton is heading towards the direction where it will circle around the earth 3 times and be out when it lands in Australia. fact is that we will never know until the shuttle touches the floor and that's when it counts.

    point for the server.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •