User Tag List

Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Graz
    Posts
    144
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default 2 tournaments in one week

    is it allowed to play 2 international tournaments in one week?
    e.g. playing qualies in one tournament. and losing in the first qualies round then travel to another tournament to be there in the main draw.

    if this is NOT allowed, would it be allowed if one of the two tournaments is a junior tournament?

    please also provide me with a link to the regulation/rule where this is stated. i quickly searched for some rule concerning this issue, but did not find anything relevant.

    thanks!

  2. #2
    Regular Member craigandy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    1,885
    Mentioned
    18 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Beta2k View Post
    is it allowed to play 2 international tournaments in one week?
    e.g. playing qualies in one tournament. and losing in the first qualies round then travel to another tournament to be there in the main draw.

    if this is NOT allowed, would it be allowed if one of the two tournaments is a junior tournament?

    please also provide me with a link to the regulation/rule where this is stated. i quickly searched for some rule concerning this issue, but did not find anything relevant.

    thanks!

    If they are both BWF sanctioned tournaments, then this is not allowed. I have provided the link below

    3. PLAYER’S COMMITMENT AND ENTRY OFFENCES

    3.2 Playing another tournament

    Having entered and been accepted into either the qualifying or main draw of a BWF-sanctioned
    tournament and playing in another Badminton tournament during the period of that tournament

    http://www.bwfbadminton.org/file.aspx?id=524461&dl=1 see here for the players code of conduct rules
    http://www.bwfbadminton.org/file.aspx?id=524467&dl=1 see here for punishment

  3. #3
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Graz
    Posts
    144
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    thanks very much for the clarification.
    isn't there 1 single file with all the rules? initially, i did not find the rule, because all the rules are separated over many different files on the bwf site. i would prefere an all-in-one file...

  4. #4
    Regular Member craigandy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    1,885
    Mentioned
    18 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Beta2k View Post
    thanks very much for the clarification.
    isn't there 1 single file with all the rules? initially, i did not find the rule, because all the rules are separated over many different files on the bwf site. i would prefere an all-in-one file...
    Here one from 2010/11 but some things have been added since then. Email bwf and I am sure they will send you a current copy

    http://www.worldbadminton.com/rules/...ndbook2010.pdf

  5. #5
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    TW, SG, HK
    Posts
    7,314
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    I presume you're referring to the Sri Lankan junior players that had been entered (and competed) in both the Austrian IC and Spanish Junior IC?

    As far as I'm aware, you cannot compete in both events, however in this case it appears they have taken part in both events.

    You ARE allowed to enter two tournaments in the same week, but you also have to withdraw before the closing date for 1 (or both) tournaments.

    In saying this, there may be exceptions if one tournament is a senior, and the other a junior, and there may be further exceptions if both events are in the same country.
    Last edited by LD rules!; 03-07-2014 at 05:06 PM.

  6. #6
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Graz
    Posts
    144
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    good call. that was exactly the reason, why i asked. how did you know?

    anyway, as they did not withdraw from one of both tournaments and competed in both of them, i think they broke the rules. do you have any source for the exceptions, you mentioned? the rule, obviously, applies to BWF sanctioned tournaments, regardless "junior" or "senior" level. so this, in my opinion, exactly applies to the discussed case. anyway, i would love to hear more details about the eventual exceptions you mentioned.

    i really dont want to punish anyone, i just wanna clarify the situation and be aware about it.

  7. #7
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    TW, SG, HK
    Posts
    7,314
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Beta2k View Post
    good call. that was exactly the reason, why i asked. how did you know?

    anyway, as they did not withdraw from one of both tournaments and competed in both of them, i think they broke the rules. do you have any source for the exceptions, you mentioned? the rule, obviously, applies to BWF sanctioned tournaments, regardless "junior" or "senior" level. so this, in my opinion, exactly applies to the discussed case. anyway, i would love to hear more details about the eventual exceptions you mentioned.

    i really dont want to punish anyone, i just wanna clarify the situation and be aware about it.
    I knew because I'd followed that tournaments results as I do with all Badminton Europe Circuit Events I had seen these players had entered but were still in the draw for the Spanish Junior.

    Here is the rule in question, specifically section 5.5 & 5.6: http://www.bwfbadminton.org/file.aspx?id=464370&dl=1

    If you look at this particular player, Kim Hyo Min, you'll see that she has been entered into two tournaments in the same week. But, her name was withdrawn from one event, meaning she only competed in one tournament:

    http://www.tournamentsoftware.com/sp...E74&player=117

    http://www.tournamentsoftware.com/sp...7442&player=71

    Section 5.10 goes further on the matters raised in 5.5 & 5.6 and states:

    "The BWF, on detection or on receipt of complaint that a player’s entries were made for two or more BWF-sanctioned competitions in contravention of Regulation 5.5, shall issue a notice to the
    Member Association concerned seeking an explanation about such violation.
    5.10.1 The Member Association shall furnish an explanation along with copy of any relevant documentation within two weeks from the issue of notice.
    5.10.2 The BWF will forward the complaint including the full documentation to the Disciplinary Committee.
    5.10.3 If the Disciplinary Committee on receipt of a complaint determines whether there was violation of Regulation 5.5. The penalty will be loss of any world ranking points earned by the player /pair in those competitions. The Committee may consider mitigating circumstances."
    Last edited by LD rules!; 03-07-2014 at 06:17 PM.

  8. #8
    Regular Member craigandy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    1,885
    Mentioned
    18 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    The only other exceptions that maybe could be found would be under 32.1-32.2 but that's for BWF to decide.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •