User Tag List

Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    came from the SAR
    Posts
    3,870
    Mentioned
    5 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Who to serve to whom?

    Let's say FHF/CY play against LYD/JJS. FHF/CY won the coin toss and decided to serve first.

    How will the umpire decide who will serve to whom? thanks.

  2. #2
    Regular Member visor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Vancouver, BC
    Posts
    9,487
    Mentioned
    114 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)

    Default

    The players, not the umpire, decide who serves and receives first.

    That's why you'll see them pointing at themselves or their partners after the coin toss. Also the winner of the coin toss decides which side they'll start on... which is very important depending on the drift of the stadium.
    Last edited by visor; 03-02-2014 at 10:38 PM.

  3. #3
    Regular Member Loh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Singapore Also Can
    Posts
    11,903
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Indeed the partners decide who should serve first and the umpire will take note of this in his score sheet.

    One thing to note as a pair is to remember which one of you has served before "service over". Then when the service comes back to you, the partner who has not served will be the next to serve. Service alternates between the two partners.

  4. #4
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    came from the SAR
    Posts
    3,870
    Mentioned
    5 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    thanks..

    Who first serve at the beginning of Game 2? the winner of game 1?

    and who serve to whom? the players decide on their own?

  5. #5
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    2,896
    Mentioned
    12 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    The winning side serves in game two.
    In doubles, either winning player may serve first in game two. (and either loser can receive first)

  6. #6
    Regular Member Loh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Singapore Also Can
    Posts
    11,903
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    The tricky point is: are the partners standing on the right side of their court - left or right, whether serving or receiving? Can the scores help the partners to decide?

  7. #7
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    came from the SAR
    Posts
    3,870
    Mentioned
    5 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Loh View Post
    The tricky point is: are the partners standing on the right side of their court - left or right, whether serving or receiving? Can the scores help the partners to decide?
    sorry, i don't think i understand what u mean.

    btw, does the winning side decide who serve first? and then the losing side decide who to receive?

  8. #8
    Regular Member Loh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Singapore Also Can
    Posts
    11,903
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by pcll99 View Post
    sorry, i don't think i understand what u mean.

    btw, does the winning side decide who serve first? and then the losing side decide who to receive?
    Yes the players can decide among themselves at the commencement of each game.

    Have you seen players who are not sure on which side of their court, the left or the right, to stand after a rally and has to be guided by the umpire?

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •