drop shots

Discussion in 'Techniques / Training' started by harry, Apr 23, 2001.

1. harry

harry Guest

any other technique that i have problem with is drop shots, wat is the proper way to do a drop shot anywayz? cos i'm trying to work on my drop shots now but got confused by how exactly to hit the bird.
    do you do the same stroke as smashing but stop/slow down at teh last point and hit the bird just pass the net
    or do you swing and use your wrist to drop it
    or do you slice it to get it over?
    ??? suggestions/instructions/descriptions would be helpful

2. Zico

Zico Guest

im no expert, but this is how i do mine. I usually either slice or backhand (usually backhand cus i still gotta practice drop slicing :) and i tend to miss it often, but whatever floats your boat:) ) when dropping back against the opponents drop, or if he smashes and you try to hit it back, dont apply strength because if it is a hard smash then it shouldnt require too much resistance to send the shot back especially if its a drop. I usually dont try to drop when my opponent clears it to me, but in certain cases or under certain curcimstances, i just sort of do like a soft drive depending on how far from the net you are.

3. Mag

Mag Moderator

Graphic Designer
    All the alternatives you gave are valid.

Your goal should be to disguise your drops, i e to make it look like a hard shot (smash, drive, clear) until the last moment. If you slice the drops you don't need to apply so much of this stopping motion.

However, it takes time to master. I would advice you not to think so much about sliced drops and/or deception... Concentrate on placement, and do your drops with slow arm/wrist movements... a sort of slow motion shot. It doesn't matter so much if your opponent easily "reads" your shots if the placement is good. When you feel you master these basic drops you can start experimenting with sliced drops and deceptive "stop motion" drops.

4. May

May Guest