Need a New Racket Reccomendation

Discussion in 'Racket Recommendation / Comparison' started by Legitmeister, Jun 14, 2014.

1. Legitmeister

Legitmeister Regular Member

Product Designer
    Hi Badminton Central bloggers,

I am an advanced 16 year old badminton player from California. I've been playing the sport for 5+ years in local tournaments and for my high school as well. Currently I'm using a 3UG5 Voltric Z Force 1st gen 26 lb nbg 99 and everything is good, no problems so far. My coach is telling me that its not the best racket for me as my body is stiff and would benefit from a med flex shaft that is slightly head heavy making my drives and other shots quicker? Z force is x-stiff and x-heavy. What recommendations do you all have? Any brand is ok

Here's a little bio about my playing style:
    118 lbs 5'5'' mesomorphic build, kinda short compared to my peers, need to bulk up
    I'm an offensive player that goes for speed, power, and accuracy
    Power is solid, but could use a little more control and accuracy(shot placement)
    Defense is on the WEAK side, need more work
    Recovering from shots needs more work as well
    Prefer to manipulate opponent and force errors
    1 shot kills are a bonus but not necessary
    Stamina is not a problem, speed is very fast but could be even faster
    Like playing around net, tricks/deception, pushes
    Smashes are powerful but not good enough IMO, need to build muscle
    To sum it up I'm a quick offensive player

Thanks!

2. visor

visor Regular Member

Welcome!

From the extensive info you provide, it does seem your current racket is too head heavy and stiff for your purposes.

Playing doubles or singles?

4U VT80 or VT70 would be a good start from Yonex.

Or 4U TK6000 or TK8000, or 3U MX90 from Victor.

Also, ask your coach what he suggests?

#2 visor, Jun 14, 2014
    Last edited: Jun 14, 2014
  3. Legitmeister

Product Designer