User Tag List

Results 1 to 16 of 16
  1. #1
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    hougang
    Posts
    6
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default double rules in the box

    Hi, If i'm having a repeat post by other user , sorry. I would like to know...abt the In and Out on the court.

    I thought That for double is 'short and fat* As in Once the shutter is btw the box behind is consider out and if shutter is inside the box at the side is consider in.

    As for Singles is the opps.

    But yesterday when i play, My frend told me.. If whoever serve first , when the ball goes in the middle of the box is consider 'In' .

    I'm really confused. Means if im not the one who serve , when the ball goes in the middle is out?

    Pls help. Thanks

  2. #2
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    U.S.
    Posts
    313
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    If the ball hits the middle line, then it is in. After the serve, in singles, the court is long and thin. After the serve, in doubles, the court is long and fat. Sorry if this doesn't help, but I hope it does.

  3. #3
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Location
    Malaysia
    Posts
    44
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Singles: Before serve, long and thin, after serve, long and thin.
    Doubles: Before serve, short and fat, after serve, long and fat.

  4. #4
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    hougang
    Posts
    6
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    thanks guys. So is..in double

    1. A serve - after hiting a few ball back.. it land in the middle box so is in.

    2. A waiting for B serve - after hiting a few ball back it land in the middle box so is out.

    Am i rite?

  5. #5
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    2,110
    Mentioned
    28 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    whats the middle box?

    I dont undersand 'hitting a few ball back'

  6. #6
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    hougang
    Posts
    6
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by amleto View Post
    whats the middle box?

    I dont undersand 'hitting a few ball back'
    sorry for latee reply.

    Middle box erm..is btw the last line and the line before the last line.

    Hitting a few ball back. erm...is hitting the shutter back and flow.

  7. #7
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    2,110
    Mentioned
    28 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    1. A serve - after hiting a few ball back.. it land in the middle box so is in.


    This doesn't make sense then - the serve is the first shot, so it can't be after hitting a few shots.

    The last line in which direction? front/back?

    Either way, the last line and the line before the last line is a tramline or a singles-only service area.

    Yes, doubles service area is 'short and fat'.

  8. #8
    Regular Member craigandy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    1,885
    Mentioned
    18 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by funniegal View Post
    thanks guys. So is..in double

    1. A serve - after hiting a few ball back.. it land in the middle box so is in.

    2. A waiting for B serve - after hiting a few ball back it land in the middle box so is out.

    Am i rite?
    Let me give this a go - After hitting a few ball back the middle box is in, always, every time. before hitting any ball back just serve middle box is out.

  9. #9
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    aberdeen
    Posts
    747
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    When the ball lands inside the box, it is in. When the ball lands outside the box, it is out. Simple.

  10. #10
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    hougang
    Posts
    6
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by craigandy View Post
    Let me give this a go - After hitting a few ball back the middle box is in, always, every time. before hitting any ball back just serve middle box is out.
    I wonder why my frend confuse me. when he say that if u served the ball ..but if the opp hit back a few times and u hit it..in the middle box is out. ARGHH!!!!!


    Thanks all for the help

  11. #11
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    hougang
    Posts
    6
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by amleto View Post
    1. A serve - after hiting a few ball back.. it land in the middle box so is in.


    This doesn't make sense then - the serve is the first shot, so it can't be after hitting a few shots.

    The last line in which direction? front/back?

    Either way, the last line and the line before the last line is a tramline or a singles-only service area.

    Yes, doubles service area is 'short and fat'.
    Is the back.

    Yep double service area is short and fat. Just tat my frend say in 100% confident that when i served the ball the first shot, he hit back, i manage to hit back again but went straight to the middle box behind... is consider out.

    That is why i am so confused when he is sooo confident .

  12. #12
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    2,110
    Mentioned
    28 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    after the serve in doubles everything in the largest box is in.

  13. #13
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    aberdeen
    Posts
    747
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    It doesn't matter where the ball lands, you decide in or out if the ball is dead in your side of the court.

  14. #14
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Berlin
    Posts
    219
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    crazy fred

    i like latecomer more confusion injection

    also love craigandy copy gamba style

  15. #15
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Berlin
    Posts
    219
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by funniegal View Post
    Is the back.

    Yep double service area is short and fat. Just tat my frend say in 100% confident that when i served the ball the first shot, he hit back, i manage to hit back again but went straight to the middle box behind... is consider out.

    That is why i am so confused when he is sooo confident .
    give that dude a harsh correction that he is wrong and stop discussing with him

    middlebox in play is in OBV., no discussion anymore with him he shall look up the rules if he dont believe you

  16. #16
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Location
    Bangladesh
    Posts
    26
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    I am a new member of this Forum and I would like to say that it is a great pleasure for me to know more about the rules of badminton playing.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •