Yang Yang, Apacs, Gosen Racquets

Discussion in 'Racket Recommendation / Comparison' started by Party2DMax, Mar 23, 2004.

1. Party2DMax

Party2DMax Regular Member

Hi, I'd like to know which brand/model I should consider. Currently, I'm a beginner although I used to train under Ong Beng Tiong's academy a long long time ago. But I've lost touch with anything badminton-related for more than half a decade and I'm a newb now :D. So, now that I've my interest back first thing to do is to get myself an entry level racquet. My budget is RM160 nett (for reference, a Gosen Grapower 850 TI is around RM180 list) and I'm considering those 3 above-mentioned brands. In short, I'm a beginner looking for an entry-level racquet. Specifically, I'd prefer an offense to all-round racquet so anyone with experience with those brands, please help me out with recommendations and/or comments. Thanks.

#1 Party2DMax, Mar 23, 2004
    Last edited: Mar 23, 2004
  2. LazyBuddy

LazyBuddy Regular Member

Engineer
    Not sure about Apacs, but both Yangyang and Gosen have tons of models (not sure if true around ur local area or not). Therefore, just talking about the brand in general, it's hard to give anything useful.

Maybe you can list the specified models that you are interested (available and in ur price range), and let others give u some suggestions. Also, if possible, borrow rackets from ur friends, fellow club members, or rent a demo from local dealers to really do a "test" by urself. Whatever other ppl say, might not be 100% suitable for your own need. Even just several swings or 5 mins drills can give u a much better idea than reading 50 reviews.

3. calvinlgoh

calvinlgoh Regular Member

Student
    the MP 55 is on a 70% discount in Jaya Jusco in MidValley although I am not sure if they still have any left. Apparently they are discontinuing the MP series in KL... You might wanna check that out. With 70% discount, it might be worth giving it a try.