Doubles Racket (SOTX Woven 7 equivalent) recommendation

Discussion in 'Racket Recommendation / Comparison' started by qyle95, Oct 26, 2014.

1. qyle95

qyle95 New Member

Hi guys,

I'm not very familiar with badminton gear, but I've been playing for quite a few years.
    I usually play doubles (very rarely singles) and I really like to smash or drop from the backcourt. Technical skills I'd rate myself as intermediate, but my footwork is quite a mess and my wrist is not powerful at all. Backhand is quite powerless too. :crying:

I have been using the SOTX Woven 7 for quite a while now and I really like the feel of it but it's my friend's and he's gonna part ways with me soon and I have to return it to him. I really like how it's head heavy but the racket itself is not very heavy. I can't really feel the difference between a very stiff and med stiff racket. I hit the rim quite a lot (~15% of the time). It's currently strung at 25 lbs.

I'd like to ask help from this community to recommend a racket that plays like SOTX Woven 7, maybe a slightly lighter racket will work even better (not too light though). Another thing that will be a plus is a bigger sweet spot.

Price and brand wise, I really don't care. I like to keep the options open and decide from there. Please help me out! Thanks everybody! :D

2. qyle95

qyle95 New Member

BUMP~
    Really could use some help out there!

3. Fidget

Fidget Regular Member

I'm not a head-heavy guy myself, but I do fondly remember the Woven 7. :)

You might like the Mizuno T700. Probably a little stiffer, about equal or slightly less head-heavy, and lighter overall, if memory serves me correctly. It's older but still available here at a good price:
    http://www.sohubuy.com/slist.asp?factory=mizuno&sort=2

4. biomik

biomik Regular Member

I have one SOTX Woven 7 sitting in the closet with no action lately. PM me if interested.

5. demolidor

demolidor Regular Member

Probably not that good an idea ;):