BG 80 after 3 weeks

Discussion in 'Badminton String' started by Charlie-SWUK, Jan 13, 2015.

1. Charlie-SWUK

Charlie-SWUK Regular Member

N90 sycophant
    So, I have both an Arcsaber 9, and a Z Force 2.
    The Arcsaber 9 has BG 80 at 24 lbs. The Z Force 2 has BG80 at 25lbs.

After 3 weeks with the string, I REALLY struggle with it, on both rackets. To begin with, it plays extremely well and I have no issues. But the sweet spot seems to vanish, nothing becomes crisp or powerful, and the string feels kind of numb to me.

I'm far from a pro, I shouldn't be able to hit hard enough or honestly - well enough - for this to happen.

With both the Arc 9 (got it restrung in October) and the ZF2 (purchased and strung mid December) I started finding the string lacking. I was having to throw more and more into the hits, until I started over pronating and causing injury/misshits.

I'm a little scared of raising the tension, because if the tension is just too high for me (although I would find it odd if it were too high for me when I get the problems after the string begins to slack).

Is this a fault of the string? The tension I'm playing at? Is this something BG80s are prone to? At first I honestly thought it was my Arc9's flex straining my wrist, but now I'm using the ZF2 which is a very stiff racket, it doesn't add up.

2. xZhongCheng

xZhongCheng Regular Member

Systems Analyst
    Maybe check your stringer to see if you are using a electronic pull or a crank?

That makes a huge difference to how your strings feel after a certain time

3. Charlie-SWUK

N90 sycophant
    They were separate stringers.

The ZF2 was strung by an electric machine.
    The ZF2 had bent strings when I got it back - I straightened them out. However, I've bent strings again twice (usually towards the mid-upper centre); vertical string being bent sideways a little.

I don't know how the Arc 9 was strung. I passed it onto a coach who got it restrung for me.

4. xZhongCheng

Systems Analyst