String Breaking near the sweetspot

Discussion in 'Badminton Stringing Techniques & Tools' started by ShuttleCocks, Feb 23, 2015.

1. ShuttleCocks

ShuttleCocks Regular Member

Student
    Hello ! This is my first time posting on the forum about stringing. I purchased a machine maybe 5 months ago and have been stringing very regularly. I've gotten into the groove and have been stringing quite comfortably. My peers have been wonderful in supporting me, and trusting me to string their rackets, so I've been doing quite a few.

My issue is that recently my peers have been breaking their strings within the 2 weeks. Some apparently down the middle on the sweet spot. Everything I do is quite standard and I was taught by someone who's very knowledgeable. At first I thought it may be the -20 weather we have here, but I am starting to get worried that i'm doing something wrong. Is there something I am doing wrong that would cause strings to break near the sweet spot ?
    sorry for the long post

KK

2. kwun

kwun Administrator

BC Janitor
    how much wear is there in general over the string bed? how many of your clients have experience this?

i have a client who consistently break string near the string bed withing 3 weeks or so. all the racket that comes back are fairly worn so it shows that he plays a lot and those are standard wear and tear. he is already using BG65 but he hits pretty hard so there isn't much that i can do.

3. visor

visor Regular Member

Oh yes there is...

ZM69 Fire... :D

4. ShuttleCocks

ShuttleCocks Regular Member

Student
    There has been 3 so far ! The first time i assumed it was because the string was a bit twisted ( twisting when I thread the cross, I redid it for the client. But recently, another client had 3 rackets done, and popped all 3 within a 2 weeks. It was BG66ult, 115% prestretch at 26x28

5. knielsen

knielsen Regular Member

Depending on how much he's playing that doesnt sound all the bad.