User Tag List

Results 1 to 12 of 12
  1. #1
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Cannock, UK
    Posts
    2,908
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Is it a fault if...?

    I was watching a game between Peter Gade and Chen Hong when the following situation occurred.

    In a net exchange Peter Gade played a net shot and the shuttle hit the tape. The base hit the tape, the feathers were up, but the shuttle did not cross the net. Chen Hong brushed the shuttle from the top of the net, hitting only the feathers and appearing to hit the shuttle before it had crossed the net. Peter appealed to the umpire that the shuttle had been hit before it crossed the net. The umpire awarded the point to Chen Hong.

    What do you think shoiuld have happened?
    And do you need any more information to make your decision?

  2. #2
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Warsaw, Poland
    Posts
    289
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    According to the rules, the initial point of hitting the shuttle should be on the hitter's side. That's all. There is no need for the whole shuttle to pass the net.

    Therefore if Chen Hong waited until at least one peace of feather was on his side for the kill and he didn't touch the net, the umpire was right.

    regards
    dzgdz

  3. #3
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Basement Boiler Room
    Posts
    22,118
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    kewl. If that is true, then the rule of hitting the cork first only apply to serving. It make sense, i have seen many situation where the shuttle is push back down before the whole shuttle fly or roll over the tape. This does require very good touch since the risk of hitting tape with racket is high. I experienced an situation where i did that but the opponent claimed that i have touched the tape with my racket where it was really the shuttle hit the tape on my reply tap.

  4. #4
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Cannock, UK
    Posts
    2,908
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Dzgdz
    if Chen Hong waited until at least one peace of feather was on his side for the kill
    I don't think any part of the shuttle crossed the net. The feathers were sticking up above the net on Gade's side.

  5. #5
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Boston, USA
    Posts
    70
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Neil Nicholls
    I don't think any part of the shuttle crossed the net. The feathers were sticking up above the net on Gade's side.
    In that case it should have been a fault. Have you got a video clip?

  6. #6
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Vancouver, Canada
    Posts
    2,370
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by cooler
    kewl. If that is true, then the rule of hitting the cork first only apply to serving. It make sense, i have seen many situation where the shuttle is push back down before the whole shuttle fly or roll over the tape. This does require very good touch since the risk of hitting tape with racket is high. I experienced an situation where i did that but the opponent claimed that i have touched the tape with my racket where it was really the shuttle hit the tape on my reply tap.
    As long Chen Hong hit the shuttle on his side of the court, he is okay. The other thing to consider too is if the shuttle hit the tape and not go over, then play is considered dead so the point will go to Chen Hong anyhow.

    Cooler, the rule of hitting cork first only apply to service. Introduced to prevent players from using the 'S' serve.

  7. #7
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Cannock, UK
    Posts
    2,908
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Best I can do is some pics of the TV.
    From rewatching, I don't think Chen touched the shuttle, so the umpire was right.
    WWC brings up the point I alluded to in the first post.
    Law 15.2
    A shuttle is not in play when it strikes the net or post and starts to fall towards the surface of the court on the striker's side of the net.

    If the shuttle had started to fall and Chen HAD hit it, it would not be a fault because the shuttle would not have been in play.

    Whether or not it had started to fall would be a very difficult call for the umpire to make though.
    Attached Images Attached Images        

  8. #8
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    London, Ontario
    Posts
    66
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Winex West Can
    Cooler, the rule of hitting cork first only apply to service. Introduced to prevent players from using the 'S' serve.
    Hi what is the "S" serve?

  9. #9
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Basement Boiler Room
    Posts
    22,118
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    making the shuttle to flies like in a 'S' shape flight

  10. #10
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    New York, US
    Posts
    10,283
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by chhayalak
    Hi what is the "S" serve?
    Search thread for "Sidek Serve", u will know.

  11. #11
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Basement Boiler Room
    Posts
    22,118
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Neil Nicholls
    Best I can do is some pics of the TV.
    From rewatching, I don't think Chen touched the shuttle, so the umpire was right.
    WWC brings up the point I alluded to in the first post.
    Law 15.2
    A shuttle is not in play when it strikes the net or post and starts to fall towards the surface of the court on the striker's side of the net.

    If the shuttle had started to fall and Chen HAD hit it, it would not be a fault because the shuttle would not have been in play.

    Whether or not it had started to fall would be a very difficult call for the umpire to make though.
    although fuzzy but they r good enough to see that no part of the shuttle likely went over the tape. It takes great finesse to have the racket glide over tape to catch the rolling shuttle but without touching the tape if the shuttle didnt get to the receiver side. Glad that the umpire took the right call. He look focused too.

  12. #12
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Warsaw, Poland
    Posts
    289
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    The photos are great but anyway I think it is not clear enough to have a proper judgment. From that far even a really small angle of the camera towards the net may cause bad position. Only the umpire sitting exactly in line is able to have a proper view (assuming that he was ready).

    But basing on what Neil written I can hardly believe that CH didn’t touch the shuttle or the net. Peter Gade wouldn’t complain about the decision if CH would have smash the air and shuttle didn’t pass the net simply because it was bad net drop delivered.

    I don’t think that mentioned 15.2 rule was applied here by the umpire. If CH was able to hit/touch the feathers above the net it is unlikely that shuttle already “started to fall down”. It happens quite often that cork hits the tape, feathers go up and finally the shuttle passes the net. Maybe if CH didn’t executed his stroke PG would win the rally.

    I feel that umpire’s decision was right.

    regards,
    dzgdz

Similar Threads

  1. Is it fault ?
    By a_tabassum in forum Rules / Tournament Regulation / Officiating
    Replies: 14
    : 03-05-2010, 11:37 AM
  2. Net fault
    By loweechng in forum Techniques / Training
    Replies: 13
    : 03-25-2009, 04:25 AM
  3. What fault is it? Receiver fault?
    By pascal123 in forum Rules / Tournament Regulation / Officiating
    Replies: 57
    : 01-13-2009, 12:48 AM
  4. Who is at fault?
    By Dendrobius in forum General Forum
    Replies: 34
    : 06-26-2006, 04:08 PM
  5. Is it a fault??????????
    By shanepaul86 in forum Techniques / Training
    Replies: 9
    : 06-10-2005, 11:31 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •