User Tag List

Page 2 of 5 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5 LastLast
Results 18 to 34 of 77
  1. #18
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    119
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    [QUOTE]Originally posted by coupii
    I see. So this implies that there is a zone in front of the net where the defender should not stand, reach into, play with his racket, or otherwise occupy, since if he were in this zone and I was the attacker, it would be his responsibility to get out of the way rather than attempt to defend, for fear of getting hit and being faulted. This being the case in spite of the fact that we are talking about a zone which is technically in the defender's half of the court?[/

    No there is no zone/area that you can't occupy

    Another question is, can a defender's attempt to play/defend/return the attacker's net smash/push/drive be technically defined as "obstruction?" Theoretically, an opponent with long arms and naturally outrageous follow through could cut a 2 foot swath over the net, and this doesn't seem to be fair either.

    No it can't be defined as obstuction as long as he is attempting to play a shot.

    ][/A similar question is posed on badders.com under "Ask the Umpire" but I'm not sure the answer given addressed the question exactly.[/


    I think it does. It's telling you that the attacker's initial point of contact with the shuttle must be on his side of the net but is allowed to follow through with his racket in the course of the stroke.
    The defender can attempt a reply as but can not just put his racket up to to the net in the path of his opponents shot to block.

    Maybe the eaiest way to picture this is;
    you are at the net and play a tight net shot, your oponent then goes to play a reply but you keep your racket up stationary at the tape awaiting his reply, this would be deemed a fault as you are not attempting a shot.[/[/B][B

    I hope this helps.

  2. #19
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Basement Boiler Room
    Posts
    22,118
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    this is relatively straight forward but usually not well understood by newbies who like to show off. In many cases, the opposing player has his/her racquet just above the net and the rebound shot is contacted not on his/her side but still on the side where the lift shot is attempted. It is obviously illegal but usually they don't want his/her cool shot called illegal and refuse to admit a fault. In many many cases, blocking a shot close to the net lead to a fault (unless it is done correctly). In support of my statement, i have viewed many many video tapes of international tournaments and watched many high level tournaments and i have not seen block shots made closer than 1 feet from the net. Advanced players know close block shots are usually fruitless because the umpire clearly see what is happening and by committing a block position, the opposing player see this and will adjust his/her shot away from the blocking player. It is a basic fundamental that u don't show your opponent your proposed shot or position. However, in my case, i use cross court net shot away from the blocking player. If i have to lift and the block shot is contacted on my side of the court, i would not waste my breath explaining these intricacies to players who faulted a block shot and let them have their point or lost a serve because in real tournament, these showoff players will lose real point.
    Last edited by cooler; 01-18-2003 at 06:31 AM.

  3. #20
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Petaling Jaya, S'gor, M'sia
    Posts
    1,338
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Never seen that kind of playing happen before...who will dare to do that?!

  4. #21
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Basement Boiler Room
    Posts
    22,118
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    In support of my statement, i have viewed many many video tapes of international tournaments and watched many high level tournaments and i have not seen block shots made closer than 1 feet from the net.

    I like to clarify my last statement, what i meant was i rarely see block shots been made or attempted by pros or advanced players from the tapes and tournaments i have seen. Of those rare occassion, those block shots were made no closer than 1 feet away from the net.

  5. #22
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    boston, ma, US
    Posts
    808
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    the person I play with would probably never play in tournaments so I doubt he cares. what he does is literally shadows the shuttle so that his racquet is probably no more than 1/2 ft away from the shuttle on his side. It is a clear obstruction but he claims he has the right to block the shot since his racquet is still on his side.

  6. #23
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    New York, US
    Posts
    10,283
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Originally posted by jwu
    the person I play with would probably never play in tournaments so I doubt he cares.

    Well, I've been involved in similar cases like this.

    Once u try to explain some rules to them, they just totally ignore u, and think u r just making a damn excuse for losing a point. To be even worse, they even use this to show off, how cool their "invention" could be. Since, most ppl don't know this kinda rule, they always get the majority to support them.

    Well, to me, surely I was upset sometimes. However, I think since it's just practice, I will just try to let them get away. If they don't care about the rule, that's their business. As least, I have to follow the rules properly, and make sure won't lose easy points for illegal moves in tournament.

    Also, anther excuse: give them several easy point, will make the practice games more competitive for me.

  7. #24
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Basement Boiler Room
    Posts
    22,118
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Originally posted by LazyBuddy
    Well, I've been involved in similar cases like this.

    Once u try to explain some rules to them, they just totally ignore u, and think u r just making a damn excuse for losing a point. To be even worse, they even use this to show off, how cool their "invention" could be. Since, most ppl don't know this kinda rule, they always get the majority to support them.

    Well, to me, surely I was upset sometimes. However, I think since it's just practice, I will just try to let them get away. If they don't care about the rule, that's their business. As least, I have to follow the rules properly, and make sure won't lose easy points for illegal moves in tournament.

    Also, anther excuse: give them several easy point, will make the practice games more competitive for me.
    That is the spirit Lazybud. People who don't want to listen or learn is why they are where they are.

  8. #25
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Basement Boiler Room
    Posts
    22,118
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Originally posted by jwu
    the person I play with would probably never play in tournaments so I doubt he cares. what he does is literally shadows the shuttle so that his racquet is probably no more than 1/2 ft away from the shuttle on his side. It is a clear obstruction but he claims he has the right to block the shot since his racquet is still on his side.
    It is like smokers saying he/she has the right to smoke in front of non-smokers. They don't know or care that whether their rights infringe upon other people's right.

  9. #26
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    12
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Is it legal to block the net?

    Some players in my club have this kinf of habit :

    When they did drop shot or net play, before I take the shuttle, their racket is ready to block at the net, so when I flick the shuttle, it touched their racket and bounce back to my court . they do it like they are playing volleyball. Is it legal to do that??

  10. #27
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Vancouver, Canada
    Posts
    916
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    From what I understand of the rules, you can't block a shot at the net with your racquet held still in anticipation of the lift. However, you can attempt to block the shot by swinging your racquet, even in a very small movement, with anticipation of the lift. The difference between the two being, in the illegal case you're holding your racquet still, the legal case you're swinging/moving your racquet in a stroke.

    I've seen a lot of beginners play weak net shots, and when they see their opponents coming in for the kill, they rush the net themselves and their racquet held up to block the kill. Not only is it really dangerous to do so, but illegal as well.
    Last edited by timeless; 04-22-2004 at 03:18 PM.

  11. #28
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    New York, US
    Posts
    10,283
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

  12. #29
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    RICHMOND BC...ne hot girls from richmond that plays badminton pm me ~_^
    Posts
    799
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    I thought you can do whatever you want as long as your racquet don't cross the net.

    I've also played with players who played a net shot too high and see their opponent coming to the net for a kill, they just kill the shot themselves so they wont get hit with the kill from the other guy.

  13. #30
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    London area, UK
    Posts
    3,979
    Mentioned
    12 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    It's only illegal if it is considered to distract or obstruct the player. If you obstruct the follow-through of a lift, for example, by placing your racket head in the way. Blocking, of itself, is not illegal.

  14. #31
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Montréal
    Posts
    265
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by SmashingBird
    I thought you can do whatever you want as long as your racquet don't cross the net.

    I've also played with players who played a net shot too high and see their opponent coming to the net for a kill, they just kill the shot themselves so they wont get hit with the kill from the other guy.
    , LOL.

  15. #32
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Cambridge, UK
    Posts
    1,543
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    lol......i thought that would be pretty dangerous what with the other player coming in at full steam, about to make the kill......

    surely they are allowed to "block" if the shuttle has crossed to their side of the net? and if it hasn't, and they still hit it, then it is a fault.

    please explain how exactly they block?

    ok...having read the other thread.....how do i interfere with their follow through unless i have my racquet on their side of the net?
    Last edited by SheldonZhang; 04-23-2004 at 01:54 PM.

  16. #33
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Boston, USA
    Posts
    70
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by SheldonZhang
    ok...having read the other thread.....how do i interfere with their follow through unless i have my racquet on their side of the net?
    They're are allowed to follow through over your side of the net. Not likely to happen from a lift though.

  17. #34
    Regular Member wwcbro's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    16°50'N 3°0'W
    Posts
    223
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Originally Posted by SmashingBird
    I've also played with players who played a net shot too high and see their opponent coming to the net for a kill, they just kill the shot themselves so they wont get hit with the kill from the other guy.
    You got to be bloody kidding!!!! That got to be the funniest thing I have yet to see in badminton.


    Blocking a net kill is legal..and risky? If you can block a smash, why not a net kill? As long as your racquet doesn't cross over the net.

Page 2 of 5 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. New kid around the block
    By Smackin in forum Introduction
    Replies: 6
    : 03-26-2007, 07:39 PM
  2. Block Smashes
    By xVinhX in forum Techniques / Training
    Replies: 3
    : 05-04-2006, 11:57 AM
  3. Anyone know where I can do Block Booking?
    By Swakoo in forum Singapore
    Replies: 3
    : 10-04-2005, 04:39 AM
  4. im d new kid n d block
    By nightviper in forum Introduction
    Replies: 3
    : 12-14-2004, 11:18 PM
  5. Please block him!
    By LazyBuddy in forum Forum Feedback
    Replies: 2
    : 11-01-2002, 01:17 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •