User Tag List

Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5 LastLast
Results 35 to 51 of 77
  1. #35
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Taiwan
    Posts
    59
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Zhang Ning
    Some players in my club have this kinf of habit :

    When they did drop shot or net play, before I take the shuttle, their racket is ready to block at the net, so when I flick the shuttle, it touched their racket and bounce back to my court . they do it like they are playing volleyball. Is it legal to do that??
    It's definitely illegal. They have to wait until after you hit the birdie to do it.

  2. #36
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Taiwan
    Posts
    59
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by SmashingBird
    I thought you can do whatever you want as long as your racquet don't cross the net.

    I've also played with players who played a net shot too high and see their opponent coming to the net for a kill, they just kill the shot themselves so they wont get hit with the kill from the other guy.
    No, you can't do it even if your racket doesn't cross the net.

  3. #37
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    RICHMOND BC...ne hot girls from richmond that plays badminton pm me ~_^
    Posts
    799
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    So technically, I can't move my racquet after I hit a shot until the other person hits the bird?

  4. #38
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Burnaby, BC, Canada
    Posts
    3,511
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Yup! But you can raise the racquet to protect yourself if you are infront of the netkill's path.

    Quote Originally Posted by SmashingBird
    So technically, I can't move my racquet after I hit a shot until the other person hits the bird?

  5. #39
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    RICHMOND BC...ne hot girls from richmond that plays badminton pm me ~_^
    Posts
    799
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    So say I smash, as soon as I hit the smash with the follow through, I have to keep my racquet down, I can't even bring it up.

  6. #40
    Regular Member wwcbro's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    1650'N 30'W
    Posts
    223
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Originally Posted by cappy75
    Yup! But you can raise the racquet to protect yourself if you are infront of the netkill's path.
    So what is the differenc? You play a net shot & your opponent do a net kill, your racquet was up:- protecting your face/ready to block/or just in a ready pose; the net kill bounce off your racquet and goes over the net. Your racquet was stationary.

  7. #41
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Surrey, UK
    Posts
    4,010
    Mentioned
    15 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by SmashingBird
    So say I smash, as soon as I hit the smash with the follow through, I have to keep my racquet down, I can't even bring it up.
    Egads! No, that's totally wrong.

    The ONLY circumstance in which you may not prepare your racket is when you would obstruct or distract an opponent. Realistically this does not often happen. There might be *some* occasions at the net where a player obstructs his opponent from playing a net kill, by placing his racket head in the path of the opponent's follow-through.

  8. #42
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    TW
    Posts
    3,949
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    I just saw a similar case to this today.

    Today, I was playing in the gym, and there was a Russian (I think ), who is playing at the court behind me. Man, he was very tall, I would say, at least 190cm tall. So, one rally was like, he was standing near the net doing the net shot, then, the other side hit it back really quick because the shot was too high. Then, the shuttle hit his shoulder (because he is so tall!) and bounced back to the other side!!

    So, would that be considered a point? or should it be a let? or should it be a point lost?

    He is obviously NOT blocking at all, but ......

    That's just crazy!!

  9. #43
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    12
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    he put the racket infront and just above the net, it just like the net now a few inches high, so when I did a lift the shuttle hit the racket and boucned back, it just happen less than a second after I hit the shuttle, how am I supposed to do another storke in such a short time?

  10. #44
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Pilipinas
    Posts
    119
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    in the tall russian's case, it would probably be a point lost, since it hit his body, and not the racket. The shuttle should hit the racket (actually the string of the racket if the rules have to be strictly followed i think) for the shot to be considered legal.

    In the case of the net kill block, i agree with the guys who say that as long as you dont overreach or have ur racket cross the net, the shot or block or whatever u call it is legal. The defining point would be the overreach.

    Thats just my humble 2 cents worth.


  11. #45
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Taiwan
    Posts
    59
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by bluejeff
    I just saw a similar case to this today.

    Today, I was playing in the gym, and there was a Russian (I think ), who is playing at the court behind me. Man, he was very tall, I would say, at least 190cm tall. So, one rally was like, he was standing near the net doing the net shot, then, the other side hit it back really quick because the shot was too high. Then, the shuttle hit his shoulder (because he is so tall!) and bounced back to the other side!!

    So, would that be considered a point? or should it be a let? or should it be a point lost?

    He is obviously NOT blocking at all, but ......

    That's just crazy!!
    Thats not blocking, if you get hit by the shuttle you lose.

    Blocking is like if you do a really good tumble drop and the shuttle is below the net and the other guy needs to do an upward pointing shot. Your racket shouldn't be anywhere near the net. If it is, its a fault.

  12. #46
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    RICHMOND BC...ne hot girls from richmond that plays badminton pm me ~_^
    Posts
    799
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Nrlll9
    Thats not blocking, if you get hit by the shuttle you lose.

    Blocking is like if you do a really good tumble drop and the shuttle is below the net and the other guy needs to do an upward pointing shot. Your racket shouldn't be anywhere near the net. If it is, its a fault.

    Is this in the rule book somewhere, if it is, please show me.
    I've played with players who always put their racquet up near the net trying to block the net everytime they play a netshot. If it is true, then I get to win the point since its a fault.

  13. #47
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Burnaby, BC, Canada
    Posts
    3,511
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    I think the difference is whether you're actually running towards the shot to block it (distracting the opponent who's trying to make a delicate shot) or have not enough time to backup from the shot, thus made it necessary to defend yourself. Also it depends on how far you are from your opponent... obviously the closer to the opponent the more you'll distract/obstruct him/her.

    Quote Originally Posted by wwcbro
    So what is the differenc? You play a net shot & your opponent do a net kill, your racquet was up:- protecting your face/ready to block/or just in a ready pose; the net kill bounce off your racquet and goes over the net. Your racquet was stationary.

  14. #48
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Amsterdam
    Posts
    89
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Zhang Ning
    he put the racket infront and just above the net, it just like the net now a few inches high, so when I did a lift the shuttle hit the racket and boucned back, it just happen less than a second after I hit the shuttle, how am I supposed to do another storke in such a short time?
    According to the Rules/Laws of Badminton, blocking the net is legal as long as you don't invade your opponent's courtside (13.4.2) or distract your opponent by shouting or making gestures (13.5) or obstruct an opponent, ie prevent an opponent from making a legal stroke where the shuttle is followed over the net (13.4.4).

    So, if your opponent's racket stays on his side of the court, it is legal the block your shot unless he obstructs your racket following the shuttle over the net. My understanding is that was not true in your case. The only thing you can do is look where his racket is positioned and hit the shuttle passed his racket.

  15. #49
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    79
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    yes. this is a useless tactics against professional player. But i admit i did that when playing with more amatuer player. just to scare them. I got a buddy last time who did something worse. he attempts net drop from back court and rushed right in front of the net to act a 'jump smash' action and scare the wits out of his opponent who dare not recieve his net drop. i was a victim too as it was really scary and i turned away. so is it a fault? guess he was just joking around.

  16. #50
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    New York, US
    Posts
    10,283
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Z1985
    I got a buddy last time who did something worse. he attempts net drop from back court and rushed right in front of the net to act a 'jump smash' action and scare the wits out of his opponent who dare not recieve his net drop. i was a victim too as it was really scary and i turned away. so is it a fault? guess he was just joking around.
    If just a friendly social game, just draw some laugh, it's ok. Who cares about all the rulez, if ppl just come for fun?

    For more competitive games, this is obviously a "distraction" to opponents. It should be ruled as a fault.

  17. #51
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    San Jose, CA
    Posts
    1,241
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by LazyBuddy
    If just a friendly social game, just draw some laugh, it's ok. Who cares about all the rulez, if ppl just come for fun?

    For more competitive games, this is obviously a "distraction" to opponents. It should be ruled as a fault.
    I could have sworn, I saw some doubles player do that and they didn't call a fault for those. Like, it was dropped and the partner jumped up and smashed back the return.

Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. New kid around the block
    By Smackin in forum Introduction
    Replies: 6
    : 03-26-2007, 08:39 PM
  2. Block Smashes
    By xVinhX in forum Techniques / Training
    Replies: 3
    : 05-04-2006, 12:57 PM
  3. Anyone know where I can do Block Booking?
    By Swakoo in forum Singapore
    Replies: 3
    : 10-04-2005, 05:39 AM
  4. im d new kid n d block
    By nightviper in forum Introduction
    Replies: 3
    : 12-15-2004, 12:18 AM
  5. Please block him!
    By LazyBuddy in forum Forum Feedback
    Replies: 2
    : 11-01-2002, 02:17 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •