New to Stringing

Discussion in 'Badminton Stringing Techniques & Tools' started by danpie, Jun 9, 2015.

1. danpie

danpie New Member

Hello,

first time posting here.
    i made the decision to buy a stringing machine. nobody in my badminton club has one. additionally i have 4 rackets which i can string by myself then.
    since im a beginner here i do not want to spend big money on my first machine (300€ limit). i did read a lot about the different mechanisms (electric, drop-weight, crank). for me its clear i want a manual machine. but i dont know what kind of machine. i have hooked to 2 models:

Pros Pro Challenger II
    and
    Pros Pro Pilot

both with different mechanics. both not the best machines as far i have read. but for beginners its okay. so whats the best machine to learn with? what machine would make less trouble?
    Sorry for hard understandings, english is not my native language ;)

Thank u in advance

2. Gollum

Gollum Regular Member

I would go for the Pilot.

The crank is a more convenient tension mechanism than the drop weight. It's also easier to upgrade later: you can swap the crank for a WISE electronic tension head, which is designed to mount on the same "track".

I think the Pilot looks like a great starting machine. :)

3. InvincibleAjay

InvincibleAjay Regular Member

Badminton Coach
    Welcome to the forums danpie :)

Both of those machines are great to start with, Gollum has made decent points about the pilot. I started stringing in 2012 and I opted for a dropweight machine which I still use now. Dropweight is a constant pull as gravity helps keep the tension in the string whilst you clamp the strings. Crank can be faster but not as accurate as a dropweight, however its easier to upgrade if you want to in the future. Both have pros and cons. Its a hard one to say as it depends on your technique and personal preference. With practice you can get fast on either machine.