Do I need a backup/warm up racket?

Discussion in 'Racket Recommendation / Comparison' started by Timmychin, Jul 13, 2015.

1. Timmychin

Timmychin Regular Member

Student
    Basically it's been almost 10 years since I played badminton. When I was younger I could say I was a pretty decent player. Recently I started playing again. So I searched for a new racket and bought the Voltric 80PG(color was too sexy) strung at 22lbs and I am really playing really badly with it. I know it's due to my skills but also partly due to the tension as I would safely say all my skills gone already.

So, my friend recommended me to get a backup racket, for warm ups at a lower string tension so I can control it better and get the 'touch' back also when I get tired with high string tensions, I can switch to a lower one. Should I listen and buy a new racket? Would prefer if it's Apacs or something affordable(would be open to any recommendations) . Or should I just change the strings of my Voltric to 18-19lbs?

2. nemrod

nemrod Regular Member

Reducing the tension will give you easier power (not more control as you say, lower tension gives more repulsion and inherently less control, albeit relatively marginal), but I'd sooner change racket. The VT80 is stiff and head-heavy and not at all friendly to players without good technique and strength. I'd even argue that the stiffness can be harmful without proper technique and conditioning (though I don't know if you have it or not).

That said, someone with good technique can easily make it more or less work with any racket and tension, even if not optimal for them, so I would definitively think the main issue is loss of technique after being away for so long.

I'd just follow your own advice and get a cheap, flexible, even-balanced racket that's probably already factory-strung at around 18lbs. It should be easier to play with to get your technique back and once you've got it down you can give the VT80 another go.

3. No_footwork