User Tag List

Results 1 to 17 of 17
  1. #1
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    59
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Question Badminton rules for serving

    Hi all, I want to know about the rule (IBF) for serving.
    I served (single play), the birdie flew, touched the top of net a little (not stuck), landed on the opponent field rightly. My opponent said, my serve was false.

    Is what he said true or not according to IBF's rule?

    Thanks in advance.

    Marc

  2. #2
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    20
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    It is a good serve!!!

  3. #3
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    59
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Smile

    Originally posted by Mikell
    It is a good serve!!!
    Well, it is not the matter of good or bad
    Is it officially allowed? or is it considered as false?

    Marc

  4. #4
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Bedford, UK
    Posts
    191
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Do you mean is it a legal serve? If so it certainly is. There is no way someone can claim otherwise. The shuttle can always touch the net as it crosses, it's just you and your racquet that must not.

  5. #5
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Burnaby, BC, Canada
    Posts
    3,511
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Heh! Now if only you could repeat that serve on a fair basis, you're on your way to professional:P Service shot is valid as long as you served it right and it landed on the opponent's receiving area (service line included). As far as I am concerned, having the shot touch the net while landing right is the best short service one can do.

  6. #6
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    New York, US
    Posts
    10,283
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: Badminton rules for serving

    Originally posted by MarcRafles
    Hi all, I want to know about the rule (IBF) for serving.
    I served (single play), the birdie flew, touched the top of net a little (not stuck), landed on the opponent field rightly. My opponent said, my serve was false.

    Is what he said true or not according to IBF's rule?
    It's a 100% legal serve according to the rule. Badminton is different than tennis, if such serve in tennis, it will be a fault.

  7. #7
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    London UK
    Posts
    66
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: Badminton rules for serving

    Originally posted by MarcRafles
    Hi all, I want to know about the rule (IBF) for serving.
    I served (single play), the birdie flew, touched the top of net a little (not stuck), landed on the opponent field rightly. My opponent said, my serve was false.

    Is what he said true or not according to IBF's rule?

    Thanks in advance.

    Marc
    Sounds asthough your opponent doesn't really know the proper rule of serving in badminton and uses the tennis rule of serving if you ask me...

  8. #8
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    59
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Smile THANK YOU ALL!

    OK, I am sure now, that I am right and my serve is legal (and good ). Thank you very much to all of you.
    Hmm.. but how can I close this thread?

  9. #9
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Fremont, SJSU, USA
    Posts
    194
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: Re: Badminton rules for serving

    Originally posted by LazyBuddy
    It's a 100% legal serve according to the rule. Badminton is different than tennis, if such serve in tennis, it will be a fault.
    technically if it lands into the service box, you get 2 serves again, but if it lands outside the box then its a fault

  10. #10
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Manchester, UK
    Posts
    244
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: THANK YOU ALL!

    Originally posted by MarcRafles
    OK, I am sure now, that I am right and my serve is legal (and good ). Thank you very much to all of you.
    Hmm.. but how can I close this thread?
    Only the moderators and admin can close a thread.

    You can silince your critics with a copy of the Laws of Badminton

    Download from http://www.intbadfed.org/Portal/desk....aspx?tabid=31

    I always keep a printed copy in my bag to settle disputes. (Except for for the two hits, one stroke is NOT a fault! )

  11. #11
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    T.O.
    Posts
    2,096
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Originally posted by MarcRafles
    Well, it is not the matter of good or bad
    Is it officially allowed? or is it considered as false?

    Marc
    Umpires and refrees typically refer to an act as "good" if it is legal and "bad" if it is illegal or a fault.

  12. #12
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    England
    Posts
    23
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Unhappy Legal Serve

    I want to raise another question regarding the short backhand serve.

    According to the IBF the shuttle must be struck below waist height. Can someone tell me what is classed as waist height?
    I have heard people mention that "legally" waist height is the bottom point of your bottom rib (feel if your not sure where I mean!)? However, I find the IBF rules to be very vague about this and I am now somewhat confused.

    Obviously if it is the higher point (the rib) then you stand to gain a slight advantage in that the shuttle can travel at a lower arc???!

    Any thoughts?????????

  13. #13
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Glasgow, Scotland
    Posts
    1,917
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    If you want to close the thread just talk about politics or religion

    Works every time

  14. #14
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    England
    Posts
    23
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Serving

    well Dill being as you seem to be the only person looking at this thread have you got any thoughts on my previously posted question???????

  15. #15
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Cannock, UK
    Posts
    2,908
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by digler_78
    According to the IBF the shuttle must be struck below waist height. Can someone tell me what is classed as waist height?
    The Law regarding the waist is vague.
    The dictionary definition of the waist is the area between the ribs and the hips.

    I'm sure this has been discussed in other threads, and I think no conclusion was reached regarding ther waist.
    It has been said, though, that service judges estimate the legal height by using the serving players elbow as a guide.
    i.e. the height of the elbow when the arm is hanging down by your side.

  16. #16
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    England
    Posts
    23
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Neil Nicholls
    The Law regarding the waist is vague.
    The dictionary definition of the waist is the area between the ribs and the hips.

    I'm sure this has been discussed in other threads, and I think no conclusion was reached regarding ther waist.
    It has been said, though, that service judges estimate the legal height by using the serving players elbow as a guide.
    i.e. the height of the elbow when the arm is hanging down by your side.
    Thanks Neil, I struggled to find anything very relevant on other threads but then i am new to this so maybe i was looking in the wrong place!?
    From what you have said though, does that mean that as long as the other serving criteria are met, i.e. head below hand, upwards motion etc that it would be hard for a judge to call a fault on a serve?

  17. #17
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Glasgow, Scotland
    Posts
    1,917
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Neil Nicholls
    The Law regarding the waist is vague.
    The dictionary definition of the waist is the area between the ribs and the hips.

    I'm sure this has been discussed in other threads, and I think no conclusion was reached regarding ther waist.
    It has been said, though, that service judges estimate the legal height by using the serving players elbow as a guide.
    i.e. the height of the elbow when the arm is hanging down by your side.
    SPOT ON !!!!!

    The bottom rib is classed as the waist in badminton and falls in line with the elbow.

    As Neils points out you should stand and gauge where it is for you.

Similar Threads

  1. Serving-New Rules
    By CkcJsm in forum General Forum
    Replies: 24
    : 06-22-2006, 08:10 AM
  2. Serving in double new rules
    By woodhead666 in forum General Forum
    Replies: 12
    : 03-20-2006, 04:06 AM
  3. Help with serving rules.
    By Moses in forum Rules / Tournament Regulation / Officiating
    Replies: 5
    : 06-26-2005, 08:17 PM
  4. Rules on serving
    By Bob Kishi in forum Rules / Tournament Regulation / Officiating
    Replies: 6
    : 12-11-2000, 04:47 PM
  5. Rules during serving
    By Dr. J.David in forum General Forum
    Replies: 2
    : 05-22-2000, 01:17 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •