User Tag List

Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Posts
    11
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Fault or not when player hitting the Net When......

    I tried to search the forum and only found that it is [not fault] that if the shutte hits the ground and the striking player hit the net.

    summary:
    Shuttle not in play first (eg. hit the gound) followed by the striking player racket hit the net because of follow thru. This consider not fault?

    my situation is:

    My friend tried to drop a shot, and the shuttle hit the net and stay at the net, and at the same time i took a swing at it and my racket hit the net after the shuttle stuck at the net

    It is a fault on my side, if my racket hit the net after the shuttle stuck at the net.


    thanks

  2. #2
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Vancouver, Canada
    Posts
    2,372
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Law 15 states:
    15. SHUTTLE NOT IN PLAY
    A shuttle is not in play when:
    15.1 it strikes the net and remains attached there or suspended on top;
    15.2 it strikes the net or post and starts to fall towards the surface of the court on the striker’s side of the net;
    15.3 it hits the surface of the court; or
    15.4 a ‘fault’ or ‘let’ has occurred.
    So, in your case I would think either 15.1 or 15.2 applies so it is not a fault unless the shuttle and your racquet hit the net at the same time in which case it is a fault.

  3. #3
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Glasgow, Scotland
    Posts
    1,920
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    It would depend on which part of the net the shuttle is stuck on for those laws to apply, WWC is correct in applying the first two but the assumptions are hitting the top of the net and the shuttle is on neither side because it is suspended on top of the net or that the striker has hit the net on their side and it is still on their side of the net.

    What if the shuttle has been struch and is over the net being suspended on the other side?

    I was always led to believe it was a fault on the part of the person that has just hit the shot if the shuttle goes over but is caught in the net on the other side from which it was hit.

    The reasoning being that the opponent is deprived of a chance to hit the shuttle in a fair way during the game.

    Is the law on hitting the net not that it is OK only if the shuttle has been hit first and the strike comes in the form of a follow through? The same as it it OK to follow over the net as long as it is a follow through after the shuttle has been struck first.

  4. #4
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    London area, UK
    Posts
    3,972
    Mentioned
    11 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Dill
    It would depend on which part of the net the shuttle is stuck on for those laws to apply, WWC is correct in applying the first two but the assumptions are hitting the top of the net and the shuttle is on neither side because it is suspended on top of the net or that the striker has hit the net on their side and it is still on their side of the net.

    What if the shuttle has been struch and is over the net being suspended on the other side?

    I was always led to believe it was a fault on the part of the person that has just hit the shot if the shuttle goes over but is caught in the net on the other side from which it was hit.

    The reasoning being that the opponent is deprived of a chance to hit the shuttle in a fair way during the game.

    Is the law on hitting the net not that it is OK only if the shuttle has been hit first and the strike comes in the form of a follow through? The same as it it OK to follow over the net as long as it is a follow through after the shuttle has been struck first.
    Strictly speaking, once the shuttle is not in play, the players can hit the net in any way they want. A fault can only be called if the shuttle is in play.

    If the shuttle, after passing over the net, is caught in the net and remains suspended, then a let is called. However, if this happens on service, it is a fault against the serving side.

  5. #5
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Posts
    11
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    i guess as long as the play is dead, all the fault wont apply. ?

    thanks guys for the inputs.

Similar Threads

  1. Stringing technique or player at fault for broken strings?
    By Jonster in forum Badminton Stringing Techniques & Tools
    Replies: 10
    : 03-07-2012, 11:51 PM
  2. Strings Snapping Regularly - Stringer or Player Fault?
    By R20190 in forum Badminton Stringing Techniques & Tools
    Replies: 19
    : 02-02-2012, 11:40 AM
  3. hitting the frame a fault??
    By malaysianfreak in forum Rules / Tournament Regulation / Officiating
    Replies: 17
    : 03-20-2011, 10:22 PM
  4. What fault is it? Receiver fault?
    By pascal123 in forum Rules / Tournament Regulation / Officiating
    Replies: 57
    : 01-13-2009, 12:48 AM
  5. is it a fault if a player does this?
    By llpjlau in forum Rules / Tournament Regulation / Officiating
    Replies: 25
    : 05-02-2007, 07:26 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •