User Tag List

Results 1 to 12 of 12
  1. #1
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    5
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default A let when stepping on shuttle from the match beside?

    Hi. A unique scenario happened to me today. During a doubles game, the shuttle from the match beside our court landed silently on our court. Unfortunately, neither me nor my partner saw it land on our court as our eyes were pointing forward at our opponents. Furthermore, our opponent did not say anything about it as well (for the benefit of their doubt, I'm assuming they didn't see it too although I'm guessing they did).

    Basically, as I stepped to the side, I accidentally stepped on the shuttle during my stroke. The moment I stepped on it, it was too late for me to stop my stroke. The act of stepping on the shuttle did affect my stroke to a degree, although at that point, the opponent had a slight advantage. They eventually smashed my return shot. Although they had a slight advantage before I stepped on the shuttle, I believe if I didn't step on the shuttle, I would have been able to clear it safely to the backcourt to neutralize their advantage.

    Unfortunately, the "let" rules in badminton are very vague about such an incident. We politely asked the opponent for a let but they disagreed so our side accepted the loss in the point. IMHO, if a shuttle from the match besides your court lands in your court and it doesn't interfere with your return and your side decides to play on but you lose the point, I think it is fair that you accept the loss of the point. But what about this situation where I unknowingly step on the shuttle during my stroke?

    Anyways, what are the rules regarding this? All I can find is 16.1:

    16.1 A "let" may be given for any unforeseen or accidental occurrence.

    It's rather vague and doesn't define clearly whether my situation would have been considered a let or not. There were no umpires for our match and it was a self judged match.
    Last edited by read_da_shot; 05-15-2004 at 10:11 PM.

  2. #2
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Sunnyvale, CA United States
    Posts
    288
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Your opponents don't have the sportsmenship... They automatically lost the game when they refused the "let" where they broke the rules of the game.

  3. #3
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    5
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Oh yeah, I forgot to mention that upon their smash, my priority was maintaining/recovering my balance (and prevent myself from falling over) rather than getting back into position.

    Anyways, how would an official umpire rule in this situation?

    read_da_shot

  4. #4
    Administrator kwun's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Santa Clara, California, United States
    Posts
    36,070
    Mentioned
    55 Post(s)
    Tagged
    2 Thread(s)

    Default

    as long as the rally was still in play. it should've been a let.

    any foreign objects that flies into the court should've caused a let, regardless whether it affected the rally or not.

    next time when that happens again, make sure you be smart and raise your arm immediately as a let request, and stop any further attempt to motion.

  5. #5
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Ontario
    Posts
    547
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by read_da_shot
    ...for any unforeseen or accidental occurrence.

    It's rather vague and doesn't define clearly whether my situation would have been considered a let or not. There were no umpires for our match and it was a self judged match.
    It seems pretty clear to me, and I don't see why the other team wouldn't allow a let.

    Phil

  6. #6
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    40
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    16.1 is kinda vague, don't you think? What if a bug crawled across the court, you stepped on it or attempted to avoid it, etc? Is that a let too?
    Last edited by viper_mav; 05-16-2004 at 04:27 AM.

  7. #7
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    5
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by kwun
    as long as the rally was still in play. it should've been a let.
    any foreign objects that flies into the court should've caused a let, regardless whether it affected the rally or not.

    next time when that happens again, make sure you be smart and raise your arm immediately as a let request, and stop any further attempt to motion.
    The problem is, I couldn't raise my hand before making contact with the shuttle. I simultaneously stepped on the shuttle while doing my stroke - and I only realized that I stepped on the shuttle at the same time of my stroke. But if the general rule is that it is a let if any foreign object lands in the court before the rally ends, regardless of whoever has an advantage, it would be a good black and white rule.

    However, is that really the interpretation of law 16.1?

    16.1 A "let" may be given for any unforeseen or accidental occurrence.

    Does 16.1 mean that any time a foreign object enters the court before the rally ends, it is a let?

  8. #8
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Burnaby, BC, Canada
    Posts
    3,511
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    If people are aware of the bug... it's a let. stepped on it or attempted to avoid it?! How heavy is the bug?!

    Quote Originally Posted by viper_mav
    16.1 is kinda vague, don't you think? What if a bug crawled across the court, you stepped on it or attempted to avoid it, etc? Is that a let too?

  9. #9
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    40
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by cappy75
    If people are aware of the bug... it's a let. stepped on it or attempted to avoid it?! How heavy is the bug?!
    Hehe, I'll make sure my friends unleash a cage full of cockroaches nearby my court next time when the opponent gets me scrambling

  10. #10
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Boston, USA
    Posts
    70
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Unhappy

    Quote Originally Posted by read_da_shot
    ...

    Unfortunately, the "let" rules in badminton are very vague about such an incident. We politely asked the opponent for a let but they disagreed so our side accepted the loss in the point.

    ...

    16.1 A "let" may be given for any unforeseen or accidental occurrence.

    It's rather vague and doesn't define clearly whether my situation would have been considered a let or not. There were no umpires for our match and it was a self judged match.
    Yeah, the rules are vague in this respect - they were written from the perspective of one game on one court. I'd guess that if multiple games on nearby courts had been considered that a let would be dictated as soon as the shuttle landed.

    In most club situations however, a let is not automatic. Most clubs play out the point and allow sportsmanship to determine if that play was affected by the presence of an extra shuttle. Stepping on the shuttle qualifies in that regard - I'd expect to receive (or give) a let in that situation.

    If the 'opponents' are reading this:

  11. #11
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Vancouver, BC
    Posts
    728
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    IMHO I agree that it should have been a let.

    I am disappointed that your opponents would not allow for the let, if they did not seen the shuttle until after the play has ended.

    It is the "poorest of sportsmanship" if your opponents had seen the shuttle on your court but decided "not to stop the play" thinking maybe one of you will injure yourself (by stepping on the shuttle) and lose the game by default.


  12. #12
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    New York, US
    Posts
    10,283
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Shame on the other team for not taking a "let".

    What's the point to win a game, just because the opponent is bothered by unexpected interference objects? If that's the case, I can feel free to throw whatever I can find in opponent's court, if I am losing???

    Step on shuttle not only bothers ppl's stroke and balance, but also could be dangerous. There's no point to continue such a rally. When I face such issues, I always call loudly to make sure opponent's pay attention to stay away, and stop the rally immediately, regardless who's already in advantage. Once or twice I even stop my free kill when i saw stuff (other court's shuttle, kid's toy, etc) laying in opponent's court.

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 1
    : 10-21-2009, 01:33 PM
  2. Yellow Plastic shuttle VS Feather shuttle
    By tlautlau in forum Shuttlecock
    Replies: 4
    : 09-25-2009, 11:29 AM
  3. Rexy Has A Change Of Mind About Stepping Down
    By Malaysianfan in forum Asian Games 2006 - Badminton
    Replies: 30
    : 12-08-2006, 12:15 AM
  4. someone can post the match schedule for match today 11 Nov 2005 ?
    By jiayou in forum Hong Kong Open / China Open / Chinese Taipei Open 2005
    Replies: 13
    : 11-11-2005, 02:21 AM
  5. Replies: 4
    : 04-17-2005, 05:17 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •