User Tag List

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 17 of 19
  1. #1
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    AB, canada
    Posts
    721
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default forum background

    the blue really catches the eye..looks nice.

  2. #2
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Eindhoven, the Netherlands
    Posts
    326
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Thumbs up new

    Yeah what a difference, this blue (on top) to white (at bottom) fade-out.

  3. #3
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    TW
    Posts
    3,949
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    blue is the way to go

    (I think I am the happiest one seeing this )

  4. #4
    Administrator kwun's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Santa Clara, California, United States
    Posts
    36,064
    Mentioned
    55 Post(s)
    Tagged
    2 Thread(s)

    Default

    haha. i knew you'd say something BJ..

    the color for badminton is green and white, like the court mat, but it is so hard to make green look nice on the website. so the direction that BC will take for now will be blue.

    thanks guys, it was a 5am insomnic inspiration.

  5. #5
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Glasgow, Scotland
    Posts
    1,920
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    For some silly reason it takes far too long for the screen to scroll down now!

    Is this a result of the background being added?

  6. #6
    Administrator kwun's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Santa Clara, California, United States
    Posts
    36,064
    Mentioned
    55 Post(s)
    Tagged
    2 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Dill
    For some silly reason it takes far too long for the screen to scroll down now!

    Is this a result of the background being added?
    hm.. not sure. how fast is your computer?

    i can imagine being a tad bit slow with the extra background, but with most computer, it should not be even slightly noticable.

  7. #7
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Glasgow, Scotland
    Posts
    1,920
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    At the moment I'm logging on with an old PII 400Mhz system.

  8. #8
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Leeds, UK
    Posts
    5,436
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    I think it is the same, just that we are seeing things differently. we recognise the blue easier than the white used to be, so the mind tells us it is there for longer, as we recognise it conciousley, not just unconciousley ignore it.

    Its all in the mind!

  9. #9
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Glasgow, Scotland
    Posts
    1,920
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by jamesd20
    I think it is the same, just that we are seeing things differently. we recognise the blue easier than the white used to be, so the mind tells us it is there for longer, as we recognise it conciousley, not just unconciousley ignore it.

    Its all in the mind!
    No, It's very slow compared to the way it used to be this morning and afternoon when I was on before.

    I just used to tap the wheel on my mouse and pull it back slightly and the page would lower not just faster but smoothly. Now it tends to drag in blocks and is very slow when doing so.

    Maybe time to get a new PC.

  10. #10
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    TW
    Posts
    3,949
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Because of the gradient blue color, it takes more time and resources for people's video card to output the pictures. However, it shouldn't be too slow if you have 64MB+ of video.

  11. #11
    Regular Member wilfredlgf's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Malaysia
    Posts
    2,579
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Slow scroll?

    Valid only if CSS is used in this matter:

    Change your browser, it may help. As far as I know this kind of problem almost always happen to Internet Explorer. I have using the more W3C compliant Mozilla/Firefox and from my experience of testing webpages on Mozilla's industry standard rendering engine as well as on IE's problematic one, my CSS-rich pages had always rendered SO MUCH faster on Mozilla than on IE.

    At the moment, I am viewing BF on both Mozilla and IE; Mozilla renders and the page faster than IE does.

    End:

    And yes, I agree with bluejeff but it doesn't make sense:
    I am viewing the page on AthlonXP 2000+ with 768MB of RAM, a GeForce 2 with MX with 64MB RAM, surely it is not powerful enough? I do agree that it is somewhat less smooth than it used to be.

  12. #12
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    TW
    Posts
    3,949
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by wilfredlgf
    End:

    And yes, I agree with bluejeff but it doesn't make sense:
    I am viewing the page on AthlonXP 2000+ with 768MB of RAM, a GeForce 2 with MX with 64MB RAM, surely it is not powerful enough? I do agree that it is somewhat less smooth than it used to be.
    A note on Geforce2 MX 64MB RAM:
    MX video cards has different designs on chips, bits, points calculations, and bandwidth. I would say, your 64MB RAM will perform the same as a 32MB Geforce2 regular video card, which isn't that much in today's systems.

    Both CPU and System Ram will not help on Graphics that much. Actually, the video card is doing pretty much 80%+ of work on images, so even if you have a 3.0G CPU, it will not change much. You can find related informations on the motherboard designs and PC Bus designs & floats on the web.

    Let me rephrase my sentence above, the speed surely slows down a little, but it shouldn't be that slow if you have a regular-to-good video card.

  13. #13
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Hong Kong
    Posts
    539
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by bluejeff
    blue is the way to go

    (I think I am the happiest one seeing this )
    haha, no you're not, i think i am

    btw, kwun, its a great background!!!! keep it up!!!

  14. #14
    Regular Member ants's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Malaysian Citizen of the World
    Posts
    13,157
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    I actually hardly notice the blue background it until i read this post. I was like thinking , what are these guys talking about? Nice job kwun.

  15. #15
    Administrator kwun's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Santa Clara, California, United States
    Posts
    36,064
    Mentioned
    55 Post(s)
    Tagged
    2 Thread(s)

    Default

    ok. i think i know why there is a slow down. i have made some changes to how the background is drawn. with my slower computer at home, i am seeing a slight speed up.

    the slow down is due to an inefficient handling and drawing of the background image vs. foreground object in IE.

    won't look as nice as before though, but only marginally different.

  16. #16
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    704
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by bluejeff
    A note on Geforce2 MX 64MB RAM:
    MX video cards has different designs on chips, bits, points calculations, and bandwidth. I would say, your 64MB RAM will perform the same as a 32MB Geforce2 regular video card, which isn't that much in today's systems.
    Whilst this is very true, if, if a 32MB Geforce 2 can't render this background quickly, the background is definately too complicated

    Of course I run a 128MB GF4 Ti and am already looking for an upgrade

  17. #17
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    TW
    Posts
    3,949
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Another tip to people who are experiencing slowness.

    You can set the resolution to be 16bits rather than 32bits, so that the work is reduced for your graphic card.
    (They will look the same since we are not running anything fancy here.)

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 13
    : 08-30-2008, 03:48 AM
  2. any idea how to blur background?
    By Go_Green in forum Badminton Photography
    Replies: 8
    : 09-12-2007, 09:43 AM
  3. Does anyone know Lin Dan's Background Info?
    By justin_hkboy in forum China Professional Players
    Replies: 7
    : 06-02-2005, 03:26 PM
  4. Trying to figure out the background on two of my rackets...can anyone help?
    By Jade_Sky in forum Badminton Rackets / Equipment
    Replies: 0
    : 04-16-2005, 07:01 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •