What do I need for ceiling height in a badminton gym?

Discussion in 'General Forum' started by mikomi, Jan 8, 2016.

1. mikomi

mikomi Regular Member

Foreman, Slacker
    TLDR; version: I'm studying the merits of building my own badminton gym what ceiling height will I need to consider to let badminton be playable? :confused:

Long-ish version:
    I'm considering building my own gym/building to play badminton. :eek: Crazy, I know. But I've come to the possession of a plot of land where I can easily fit at least 6 courts + parking space. The architect helping me pro bono needs to know what clearance height we need when we play. I mentioned that we need at least 10m, is that too low? too high? :confused: I know high is best but I can't build a skyscrapper, this is coming out of my own pocket. :crying:

I'm not speaking in jest or having a thought exercise.

Your honest suggestions are greatly appreciated! Thanks!

2. kwun

kwun Administrator

BC Janitor
    I have played in various gyms here in the area with varying heights.

The very first place that opened up many years ago, barely clear 20ft. that was no where near enough. but great for precision practice as we trained to just clear the ceiling and not touching it.

then newer places opens up with various (higher) heights. 24ft is really the minimum. with a 24ft ceiling, for doubles play we might hit the ceiling once during the evening.

when it goes up to 26ft, then we hardly ever hit the ceiling.

then one place has a 35ft ceiling, and honestly even if we aim for it and hitting the shuttle vertically really really hard, only 1 out of 10 times we managed to touch the ceiling.

translating to metric, it means 10m (around 33ft) will be plenty.

make sure you update us with the progress of your gym. that's really great that you have the resource and means to take on such a project.

3. mikomi

mikomi Regular Member

Foreman, Slacker