Results 1 to 16 of 16
Thread: Yellow Card
07-10-2004, 09:23 PM #1
Do anybody know how many yellow card can issue by umpire before they can
take action and what kind of action? Bcos I saw yellow card issue to CLBao and
Zhang Jun during Malaysia open and Lin Dan at TC but no further action.
Also is that any red card in badminton?
07-10-2004, 09:32 PM #2
There's red card in formal tournaments... it gives the other side a point if you get one. It's only extreme case though. Yellow cards are given as warning, but it's usually preceded by verbal warning first.
Originally Posted by hoioh
07-10-2004, 10:06 PM #3
I thought it's like if you get 2 yellow cards, then it would be equal to a red card, right?
07-11-2004, 08:56 AM #4
Hmm... not sure about that one. I was watching Lin Dan-P. Gade match in the Thomas Cup 2004 DVD when Lin Dan got served a yellow card for taking too long to get ready to receive (he has done it twice). At that moment, the commentators were talking about receiving a red card meaning a point for the other side. So I think there is red card in badminton. Of course, the Umpire could serve as many yellow cards as s/he wants... but won't that dilute effect of the warning?
Originally Posted by bluejeff
Last edited by cappy75; 07-11-2004 at 08:58 AM.
07-11-2004, 10:27 PM #5
I am not sure
When was the last time you see a red card or multiple of yellow cards? (if any)
07-12-2004, 08:40 AM #6
Heh! I guess it's pretty rare but not impossible. Just look up All-Englands 2004 and feel the Malaysians' love for Jane Hancock. One yellow card is usually enough to warn.
Originally Posted by bluejeff
07-12-2004, 04:40 PM #7
you could always just look in the Laws of Badminton available online at the IBF website.
rules applicable are:
16.7.1 - Warning
16.7.2 - Fault (only if previously warned) i.e. lose service or lose 1 point
16.7.3 - Fault plus report offending side to Referee. The Referee has the power to disqualify the offending side (i.e. they instantly lose the match)
As I understand it the cards match up as follows
Yellow - warning
Red - fault
Black - disqualification
(presumably, the black card is issued by the umpire only at the say so of the Referee)
You usually get several verbal warnings before getting a yellow card, but if you keep offending it won't be long before you see the red and black.
I've only seen 1 red card. Simon Archer in the XD at Commonwealth Games 2002. He left a shuttle that went out but the umpire ruled that it had touched his racquet. He did not agree. Quite a lot.
I don't remember whether he had had a yellow card earlier in the match, or whether he got a yellow and a red for this one incident.
07-12-2004, 04:52 PM #8
ah, better still, look at 3.13.3 in the "Recommendations to Court Officials"
So it goes:
x number of verbal warnings
1st cardworthy offence - Yellow Card
y number of verbal warnings
2nd cardworthy offence - Red Card (fault)
z number of verbal warnings
All subsequent cardworthy offences - Red Card (fault) + summon Referee
If the Referee decides to disqualify, he gives the black card to the umpire so that the umpire can use it.
If the Referee decides not to disqualify, the offending side is only penalised by the Fault
I don't know if each member of a doubles pair can get a yellow card or not.
I would guess not, as the rules talk about "the offending side"
So each side could get 1 yellow, multiple reds, 1 black.
09-14-2004, 11:19 PM #9Originally Posted by Neil Nicholls
09-15-2004, 02:13 AM #10Originally Posted by hoioh
09-15-2004, 03:10 AM #11
AS an umpire, i can say that there's no limit about the number of cards u can deliver but when u get a yellow one, it helps to get calmer after.
i've seen several red cards but i know only one player who has been disqualified by a black card in a match and it is .......Nabil Lasmari (France Single Champion) 1 or 2 years ago !!!
I don't remember the reason of he black card but the impact was tremendous in France.
Seven, any info about this ????
09-15-2004, 03:16 AM #12
number of cards
For the number of yellow cards it is obviously one by pair of double. no limit for RED ones.
the second offense will be sanctionned by a red one.
06-01-2005, 05:19 AM #13
06-01-2005, 06:07 AM #14
06-01-2005, 06:14 AM #15Originally Posted by Troncheur
The laws appear to say a player only gets 1 yellow.
You say a player only gets 1 yellow.
How did he get 2 yellow?
06-01-2005, 06:20 AM #16
Yes, something doesn't seem very clear here...
By pcll99 in forum Rules / Tournament Regulation / OfficiatingReplies: 56: 08-05-2012, 12:42 PM
By ajay106 in forum 2001 - 2012 TournamentsReplies: 5: 03-12-2012, 04:15 PM
By taneepak in forum Rules / Tournament Regulation / OfficiatingReplies: 16: 07-29-2010, 09:04 PM
By venkatesh in forum General ForumReplies: 7: 04-05-2008, 04:39 AM
By leehsim in forum Forum FeedbackReplies: 5: 10-06-2004, 03:33 AM