are elbow wraps prohibited in badminton?

Discussion in 'Rules / Tournament Regulation / Officiating' started by bigredlemon, Aug 27, 2004.

1. bigredlemon

bigredlemon Regular Member

if not, why isn't everyone using them? They add considerable power during the smash, and has very little cost to the game. (They effectively strength the triceps, which is usually involved in power movements rather than delicate movements.)

I've never used wraps before being injured, and how much power they add (when its tight enough) blew me away. Its like i'm even stronger while injured than while i was healthy!

Supposedly, you gain as much as 30% more smash power!

#1 bigredlemon, Aug 27, 2004
    Last edited: Aug 27, 2004
  2. Nanashi

Nanashi Regular Member

Student
    i have a very vague idea of what you are talking about.... could someone post a diagram of what an elbow wrap looks like??

and i'm sure there is SOME form of drawback, or some reason they aren't used (or maybe they are illegal), or else internationals would be using them...

i mean, 30% more smash power??

3. Feng_MP-100

Feng_MP-100 Regular Member

Student
    ARE YOU SERIOUS?!?!!?:eek:
    IF IT REALLY ADDS 30% SMASH POWER< THEN I MUST GET ONE!!!:D MUAHAHAHAHA

4. Neil Nicholls

Neil Nicholls Regular Member

says who? (he says, with a large dollop of scepticism)

5. bigredlemon

Says me. It biases your elbow towards extension, which effectively ads tricep explosive strength and hence smashing power. The disadvantage is weaker underhand clears... but there's more than enough strength there to get the bird to the other side, so extra strength is wasted anyway.

The elbow wraps acts like a spring to explode your elbow from contraction to extension. Its use is limited in other sports, but I see no restrictions in the badminton rule books...