Thank you tennis.

Discussion in 'General Forum' started by KidDynamite, Sep 10, 2004.

1. KidDynamite

KidDynamite Regular Member

Cashier
    I hadn't played badminton in about 5 months since last season. And last season I couldn't smash or clear at all. Horrible technique and generated almost no power.

Then it was spring and I started playing tennis again, and majorly worked on my serve.

Yesterday was the first time I played badminton in a while since my club started again. I could clear with ease and smash a ton harder. And I can finally make the 'pok' sound when I hit it. Thanks tennis.

2. cooler

cooler Regular Member

Surfing, reading fan mails:D, Dilithium Crystal hu
    very interesting as it support a post i'm about to write in the thread badminton versus tennis. :)

3. altreality

altreality Regular Member

I am a little surprised it helped with your clears as well - I play both often and always try to disapply my strokes for badminton in tennis ....

My problem is with the racket face..... we take most badminton shots with an open face but in tennis most shots are closed (smahes excluded)

4. wedgewenis

wedgewenis Regular Member

Some interestign things i've noticed

Playing badminton made my tennis footwork much better

but playing Tennis made my Badminton footwork alot worse
    -----------------------------------------------------------------

Also Serving in Tennis (especially practing my serve) - made my smash in badminton a bit stronger - but not as much as i was hoping.

5. wedgewenis

wedgewenis Regular Member

and also several times where i played badminton later in the day (after tennis) - i didn't find it messed up my game as much as many people have said

i have met people who say tennis screws up your badminton skills - and it did feel this perhaps for the first 10 minutes - but after that i was easily able to feel natural again on teh badminton court.

6. Bobatea

Bobatea Regular Member