Advice on Slice/Drop shots?

Discussion in 'General Forum' started by Lawrence, Jun 19, 2001.

1. Lawrence

Lawrence Guest

Hello,

I am wondering if anyone can give me some tips in making a slice drop. (I am not sure if I am describing it properly) So far, I am trying to hit the bird similar to how I hit an overhead clear with the racquet at an angle.....is this how this is done? Any tips would be helpful....thank you :)

2. Byro-Nenium

Byro-Nenium Regular Member

Undergrad
    I'm not very good at these type of shots but i like doing them. Normally the only time when i do a slice drop shot as you call it. Is from the back corners of the court. The back right for righties, what i would do is change my grip to a backhand grip and hit it forhand. Cutting the shuttle causing it to drop in the front right of your opponents court.

Just do turn your racket the opposite way for the slice drop shot from the opposing corner.

It takes a while to do this shot but its fun when you can pull it off, it keeps your opponent guessing on which way to move

3. Byro-Nenium

Byro-Nenium Regular Member

Undergrad
    I'm not very good at these type of shots but i like doing them. Normally the only time when i do a slice drop shot as you call it. Is from the back corners of the court. The back right for righties, what i would do is change my grip to a backhand grip and hit it forhand. Cutting the shuttle causing it to drop in the front right of your opponents court.

Just do turn your racket the opposite way for the slice drop shot from the opposing corner.

It takes a while to do this shot but its fun when you can pull it off, it keeps your opponent guessing on which way to move

4. Steplantis

Steplantis Regular Member

Broadcast Engineer
    Do a search of previous posts using the " Slice drops" heading and you should get some results.

5. SystemicAnomaly

SystemicAnomaly Regular Member

pre-Occupied