Results 1 to 12 of 12
09-18-2004, 08:23 AM #1
Question regarding service error, score and the LAW
I had a situation come up tonight, and reading through the Laws, was still unsure of the correct interperatation/answer. Please clarify for me if you know.
Background: Playing Doubles, score is 13-7, my partner and I are losing, just lost serve and now became the receiving team.
Serving team: Person A is even (right side), Person B is odd (left side).
On service, person A served to us from the even side, even though the score was 13-7 (i.e. should have been odd and Person B should have served first). We won the point and it become second serve. Person B began to serve, then realize the score was 13-7 and he should have been the first person serving from the even (right) side.
According to law 12.2.2 under service court error, if a service court error is discovered before the next service is delivered: if one side made the error and lost the rally, the error shall not be corrected;
So I told them the first serve counted and that they lost the rally. They are on second serve with Person B serving. But I also said that they should be deducted a point (be at 12) because otherwise they would be in the wrong service position on the court (versus their initial starting positions of Person A being even and Person B being odd). We continued with Person B serving from the odd side, with score 12-7.
But 12.4 states that: if a service court error is discovered after the next service has been delivered [ in this case I take it to mean the first serve by person A] ther error shall not be corrected and the play in that game shall proceed without changing the players' new service courts nor the new order of serving.
If I am reading this correctly, then the score should have remained 13-7, the opposing team lost their first serve, the second serve is still by Person B and is still on the odd (left) side BUT the team will continue with this service rotation till the game is over (in other words, Person A and Person B would have switched service rotation with Person B now in the even position).
Is this revised interpertation correct? Or is my initial first interpertation correct? Or is there a another correct answer out there? Help please.
09-18-2004, 11:31 AM #2Originally Posted by prophet
as per the rule 12.2.2 cited by you, I say that this situation (service court error discovered before the next service) shall follow this rule. and hence your revised interpretation is fine. Game should proceed with 13-7 and other side player's position unchanged.
though sad for you...
but in case, opponent started with service court error and won the rally, then what does the rule say to correct this?
09-18-2004, 10:31 PM #3Originally Posted by prophet
Now you have recognised that , you second interpretation is correct. _The play stands_. That includes court positions (and the second server always serves from the opposite court to that in which the first server lost serve.)
09-19-2004, 01:18 AM #4
i agree with Sliced Drop on this one. under no circumstance should a point be deducted in a badminton game.
09-19-2004, 05:10 AM #5
May I clarify what the correct interpretation should be. Does this mean that there will now be a change of the base (or even, Person A in this case) player? Will person A and B now be odd and even respectively? From what I know and see being done at games (not a lot), what is usually done is that the players just change places to correct their positions. That is, since it is 13-7, person B goes to the even position (right side from their view) and then proceeds with the second serve. Your comments please...thanks.
09-19-2004, 05:22 AM #6
yes, according to the rules, player A will now be odd and B will be even.
most casual players don't know about this rule and don't do the "correct" thing.
09-19-2004, 06:52 PM #7
Makes sense, makes sense. Thanks all for the confirmation of the revised interpertation. In most cases, someone catches the error in service position before the first serve. It was just interesting that it happened in between first and second serves on this occasion. Thanks!
09-19-2004, 07:05 PM #8
even though, the question has been answered... if it wasnt a tournament match, thus meaning no ref , it is up to you to call the fault, during play. If you dont call it, it is considered you "played" on it, and thus the game runs as normal.
09-20-2004, 02:17 AM #9Originally Posted by kwun
09-20-2004, 03:48 AM #10Originally Posted by Neil Nicholls
09-21-2004, 12:47 AM #11Originally Posted by Neil Nicholls
09-21-2004, 02:55 AM #12Originally Posted by prophet
if there is a let because of a service court error, the rally shall be replayed with the error corrected.
so score would be 13-7. All players should adopt their correct sides for the score. If it was first serve before the let, it is still first serve after the let.
By Elixau in forum General ForumReplies: 9: 11-20-2007, 05:08 AM
By harmono in forum Rules / Tournament Regulation / OfficiatingReplies: 4: 06-26-2006, 02:00 AM
By ymerej in forum General ForumReplies: 2: 12-18-2005, 01:35 PM
By AhNgaU in forum Techniques / TrainingReplies: 11: 06-05-2002, 07:50 PM
By Dave G in forum General ForumReplies: 6: 02-23-2002, 06:17 AM