View Poll Results: IN or OUT?
- 84. You may not vote on this poll
Thread: IN or OUT?
09-20-2004, 09:13 PM #52
well because its still int he air theres always the possiability that it could go out or could land in but the again the angle at which the picture was taken was not parallel to the line so therefore it is hard to tell if it will be in our out at the moment. but then again as long as part of it touches the line its in so i would have to say in.
Last edited by smash_master; 09-20-2004 at 09:15 PM.
09-20-2004, 09:19 PM #53
I Call It Outtttttttttt!!!
09-20-2004, 09:23 PM #54
[QUOTE=Winex West Can]That's beside the point. The rule is that if the base of the shuttlecock touches any part of the line, it's in. Just because you like to be safely in is not an option
As a linejudge, you need to call the shot as you see it (regardless of whether you think it might be in or out). It's either IN or OUT or you signal unsighted.
09-20-2004, 09:53 PM #55
In - from what I see, the shuttle touches the line.
09-20-2004, 10:54 PM #56
I think it's ambiguous, and the poll reflects that. You'd call upon some interpretation or past experience to justify how you would call the shot, either in, or out.
BTW WWC, when can cappy75 and I get a game against you/wwcbro again? Separate thread or PM!
09-21-2004, 12:42 AM #57
I think its in... I mean out.....I mean in.....no, no I think its out.....
Ok, Ok, out it is by the narrowest of margins in my mind, the shuttle hits the outside first therefore making it out... whew!
09-21-2004, 01:22 AM #58Originally Posted by Feng_MP-100
Location: Sunnyvale, CA United States
The picture quality sux. But I think it's IN.
Hey, u can't have it both ways
09-21-2004, 01:44 AM #59
ya its kind of hard to judge when you cant see where the shuttle touches the ground...
09-21-2004, 01:55 AM #60Originally Posted by paulchow
09-21-2004, 02:08 AM #61
this is the situation that works the best for an instant replay
(no, we probably won't have that)
09-21-2004, 02:16 AM #62Originally Posted by badmad
I assume that the shuttle has landed (not still airborne), otherwise the line judge should not make any call yet. If the bird has touched the line, no matter how finely or thinly, it should be treated as "in" and normally the LJ should not make any call UNLESS it is 'out', whereby he will shout 'out' with his arms stretched from his sides. If I were the LJ in this case, I will shout 'OUT' with my arms outstretched sideways, because I see it as out side the baseline and not touching it.
But what happens IF:
1. The cork (shuttle' base) has landed outside the line but the feather(s) land on or inside the line?
2. The shuttle was about to land seemingly outside of the line but a gust of wind blew against the shuttle and made it land on its feathers first on/inside the line?
Care to offer your verdict, Mr Line Judge?
09-21-2004, 02:23 AM #63Originally Posted by Loh
Originally Posted by Loh
2. In. Doesn't matter about wind or not.
09-21-2004, 02:31 AM #64
Whatever part touched the ground first counts (most of the time, the cork base first). That's what linejudges are for... to check the shuttle actually land on the ground.
Originally Posted by Loh
09-21-2004, 02:35 AM #65Originally Posted by kwun
09-21-2004, 02:40 AM #66Originally Posted by Loh
if the first contact is outside the lines, it is a fault, and as soon as a fault occurs, the shuttle becomes "Not in play". What the shuttle does when it is "Not in play" is irrelevent, so if any further part of the shuttle subsequently comes into contact inside/on the lines, it does not suddenly become "In".
It is exactly the same as if the shuttle lands clearly OUT and then bounces back in. Nobody considers that to be IN do they?
If different parts of the shuttle simultaneously contact IN and OUT, I'm not sure the rules are specific. But I would call it IN. Not that a person would be able to accurately judge that this has happened in the real world.
09-21-2004, 03:46 AM #67Originally Posted by bigredlemon
09-21-2004, 03:47 AM #68
the call by the linesman was: