User Tag List

Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    Malaysia
    Posts
    403
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default "Serve-switch"... is this legal?

    Is a "serve-switch" considered legal in a tournament? Last week during a match, one of the elders positioned himself to do a backhand serve.... then at the very last minute he "switched" to the forehand and served high. He did like 3 times in the match itself. Even my partner was like "WTF is that serve?".

  2. #2
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    1,630
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    19 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    I think it's legal. There's nothing in the rules that I can see is against this.

  3. #3
    Regular Member visor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Vancouver, BC
    Posts
    8,584
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    84 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)

    Default

    Legal unless he switches after he has started forward motion of the racket head towards the shuttle, in which case it's a double motion and is considered a fault.

  4. #4
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Location
    russia
    Posts
    421
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    only noobs do that...

  5. #5
    Regular Member ChubbyCheshire's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Crewe, UK
    Posts
    39
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    To switch from backhand to forehand after setting up the racket head must move forward - so it is a fault

  6. #6
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    aberdeen
    Posts
    522
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Legal unless the forward had begun as VISOR said, every player entitles to his her routine before serving.

  7. #7
    Administrator kwun's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Santa Clara, California, United States
    Posts
    35,329
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    43 Post(s)
    Tagged
    2 Thread(s)

    Default

    there is nothing in the rules that governs whether the service is forehand or backhand, nor does it say anything about stance or preparation except that the first forward movement must be continuous and that the feet must be in constant contact to the ground.

    given that the server abide to those rules, he can be as creative and unconventional as he can.

  8. Likes gundamzaku liked this post
  9. #8
    Regular Member ChubbyCheshire's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Crewe, UK
    Posts
    39
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by latecomer View Post
    Legal unless the forward had begun as VISOR said, every player entitles to his her routine before serving.
    Yes but try it, as soon as you turn your racket from backhand to front there will be some forward movement.

  10. #9
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    aberdeen
    Posts
    522
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ChubbyCheshire View Post
    Yes but try it, as soon as you turn your racket from backhand to front there will be some forward movement.
    The key is changing from back hand to forehand. Let say if I serve high using the same routine every time, can a judge calls fault on me?

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •