AS Work - Badminton Serve

Discussion in 'General Forum' started by nsalah, Oct 6, 2004.

1. nsalah

nsalah Regular Member

Hi,

I'm new to this website so am probably posting in the wrong place so I apologize in advance. As part of my Physical Education AS Level I have to complete a peice of work on badminton. I have chosen to analyse the high service in singles.

:confused: However I am having great difficulty in how to break it down for say a complete beginner, any tips or ideas? Any comments to help regarding anything to do with execution or coaching tips of a high serve would be immensly appreciated.

Thanks, great site btw,:)
    Natalie

2. odjn

odjn Regular Member

Student
    force x distance = power

basically.....improve the distance of your swing to the bird and use more FORCE!!!! haha ....

"use the force!!"

3. wedgewenis

wedgewenis Regular Member

odjn-wan kenobi :D

#3 wedgewenis, Oct 10, 2004
    Last edited: Oct 10, 2004
  4. wedgewenis

wedgewenis Regular Member

front foot points towards the net

one hand holds the shuttle out and infront - not beside the body
    in front and slightly to the side

the shuttle must be droped before it can be hit .. so you have to drop it at a comfortable distance from the body or your other arm will be choked up when you try to hit it.. or you will have to reach out for it.. this also has an effect on how hard you can hit it... if the shuttle is held too high it will be difficult to get power (rules also state that the shuttle must be hit below waist level)

power is generated by raquet head speed.