Shuttlecock Launching Machine ???

Discussion in 'Shuttlecock' started by nuttyengineer, Oct 10, 2004.

1. nuttyengineer

nuttyengineer Regular Member

Hi everyone,

I am currently studying a degree in Engineering at a University in the UK. As part of my degree a group of students I am working with have decided to design and manufacture a working Shuttlecock Launcher. We have built a prototype which works fine but we would like to further develop it as part of our project. We are also currently investigating the possiblity of a Business play in relation to the further manufacturing of this launcher; for this we need to make a business plan which involves researching the market for this machine.

As part of my research I would like to know from you the badminton professionals and amatuers alike what sort of expectations would you have from such a machine? Is there a need for such a machine? What kind of features would you want it to have? Who do you think this kind of machine would be best suited for (beginners?, proffessionals?)? Would you use the machine? How much would you as an individual or club be willing to pay for such a machine? Please let me know what you think. All serious feedback is welcome. Thanks in advance .

[For clarification the machine launches a series of shuttles from one side of the court over the net to the other at various distances (short drop, long lob) in different directions.]

2. Tomsk

Tomsk Regular Member

1. The machine needs to be transportable, ideally to fit in the boot/trunk of a car.

2. have you considered how you load the shuttles? The best way would be just throw the shuttles in a hopper without presorting.

3. remote control

4. having been on a coaching course, I think a better business idea would be a machine or device that can pick up shuttles and sort them into 'tubes' ready for use by the coach. (You heard it here first! ;) )

3. frendies

frendies Regular Member

medical