User Tag List

Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Malaysia
    Posts
    55
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Serving question

    Hi! I did a search on this topic but couldnt come up with anything (please pardon me if this has been asked before)

    Is it legal to drop the shuttle before serving backhanded? I supposed in singles thats perfectly fine but what of doubles?

    I played a guy who served like that - it was hard to gauge his serve as he delayed the motion until the last possible minute

  2. #2
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    London area, UK
    Posts
    3,941
    Mentioned
    8 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    It is legal, but disadvantages the server. He will not be able to serve as accurately using this method; the ability to hold the shuttle, not drop it, is a benefit of serving backhand.

    You are having difficulty because his unusual serving style disconcerts you. Once you get used to it, it will seem like a silly gimmick

  3. #3
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Dundee / Malaysia
    Posts
    35
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    that brings to my next question, does that mean it is LEGAL to hit the shuttle directly while i am still holding the shuttle? I am asking this because I tried to serve a fast drive serve using this method and the opponent i was playing with insist that it was an illegal serve. He says that i have to drop the shuttle first, even if it is a little drop.



    Quote Originally Posted by Gollum
    It is legal, but disadvantages the server. He will not be able to serve as accurately using this method; the ability to hold the shuttle, not drop it, is a benefit of serving backhand.

    You are having difficulty because his unusual serving style disconcerts you. Once you get used to it, it will seem like a silly gimmick

  4. #4
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    London area, UK
    Posts
    3,941
    Mentioned
    8 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Albert
    He says that i have to drop the shuttle first, even if it is a little drop.
    Nope. He made that up!

  5. #5
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Cannock, UK
    Posts
    2,908
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    I dunno.
    You could argue that as soon as the racquet contacts the shuttle, the shuttle is in play. If, when in play, any part of the player or the players clothing touches the shuttle, that is a fault.

  6. #6
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Dundee / Malaysia
    Posts
    35
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    arggh.....me confuse.....so is it a fault or not?



    Quote Originally Posted by Neil Nicholls
    I dunno.
    You could argue that as soon as the racquet contacts the shuttle, the shuttle is in play. If, when in play, any part of the player or the players clothing touches the shuttle, that is a fault.

  7. #7
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    London
    Posts
    111
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Eh? Do the pros drop it before making contact? I haven't specifically checked, but from watching matches, I don't think they drop it.

    I've got coaching tonight, so I will find out then

  8. #8
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Leeds, UK
    Posts
    5,436
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    You should let go of ther shuttle the instant before you hit the shuttle. IMHO i cant see how you can hit it whilst you are still holding it (doesnt it hurt?)

    A lot of people make the mistake of moving the arm away whilst throwing the shuttle, when you should position the hand and the shuttle, so that simply open the fingers can allow the racket to pass freely. If you dont do this the shuttle doesnt not hang in the air, then drop, it can be thrown away from the racket, so adding to inconsistencies.

  9. #9
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    T.O/Waterloo
    Posts
    34
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    How can that be illegal??? I guess he must have his own badminton law book then .

    Better yet, why don't you ask him to show you how to serve. I want to see him to hit his hand(especially for backhand serve)... ....ask him to do a long serve too....more pain for him.

    I think he must be playing in space if you let go of the bird and the bird doesn't drop, especially for forehand serve???? Otherwise he must have toss the bird upward then hit it before the bird falls, OR he might have re-definite the law of physics....

  10. #10
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    us
    Posts
    185
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Never heard such complain, but now you get me thinking before every backhand serve.
    Drop, no drop, drop, no drop … …

Similar Threads

  1. Got serving rule question...
    By Raygun26 in forum Rules / Tournament Regulation / Officiating
    Replies: 8
    : 03-28-2009, 05:15 PM
  2. just a question about serving..
    By laki_indo in forum Rules / Tournament Regulation / Officiating
    Replies: 5
    : 01-24-2005, 04:00 AM
  3. serving letting question...
    By kwun in forum General Forum
    Replies: 21
    : 10-25-2004, 12:33 AM
  4. Serving question
    By peyter in forum Techniques / Training
    Replies: 0
    : 10-22-2004, 02:00 AM
  5. Another Serving Question
    By Kenny in forum Techniques / Training
    Replies: 4
    : 04-04-2004, 05:19 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •